Chasing the Dragon in Understanding the Unthinkable

  • Feb. 28, 2017, 7:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

There’s a reason it’s called “Chasing the Dragon”. Heroin has surged once again in our community. The first hint came last night when I called to follow up on a client, who told me he’d been asked to leave the halfway house because he used again. Then my husband called to say another client (whom he’d hired) was “dope sick” and now fired. Then I heard on the afternoon news that heroin was flooding our community again.

“Dragon” is a good word for the devil we call heroin. I know so many phrases I never knew before: “dope sick”, “nodding”, “fentynol”…on and on it goes, as we lose more and more people.

It’s not about the money, although our organization cannot afford to waste over two grand. It’s not about my ego, although one former reader here told me it was (she’s history and she is wrong, but she needed a weapon to hurl). IT’S ABOUT SAVING A LIFE.

Maybe I haven’t been clear enough. Do you know how Nick died? Yes, he died of Graves disease, an inherited thyroid disease that was never diagnosed. But he had been abusing the dragon named “oxycotin” (another word I wish I didn’t know) and even though he beat his addiction, there is a very good chance that his drug abuse triggered the thyroid to go into overload.

If you are taking opioids and you’re checking your watch to see when you can take your next pill, if you are cranky and fly off the handle at others because you “need” your pills, if your pills are more important than anything else, you have a problem and you need to seek help before you do so much damage to your body that you die whether or not you’re using.

This is not a Millennial problem. I read journals here of women in their 60s who speak of their pain pills and their sleeping pills on a regular basis. Odds are good that they are addicted.

Don’t die before your time. Don’t make drugs your God. The dragon is the devil and he’s determined to claim your soul. Fight hard to get back to the God of love, the God who says you are forgiven regardless of your past, the God who knows the wrongs that man has done to you. THAT’S the God who will bring you a happy, bondage-free life.

If you have an addiction and live in the States, I think Salvation Army programs are probably the best there is, but ANY program is better than none. Start right now. Pick up the phone, call “Aunt Sal”, and tell her you are in bondage to drugs and want to break free. Nothing can happen without effort from you.

And if you can’t do that, know this: you rip the heart out of those who care deeply for you. I know the opioid is telling you nobody cares, but the opioid is the devil who lies to you. I’M telling you the truth.

I’m angry. I’m heartsick. I’m tired. Your life matters.


GypsyWynd February 28, 2017

I know you want to save them all.

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ February 28, 2017

Not only them. I want to save the parents from the sorrow I carry.

GypsyWynd ConnieK ⋅ February 28, 2017

if only you could. {{hugs}}

QueenSuzu February 28, 2017

Big epidemic in my area with cocaine---a lot of people ar dying because the coke is bad. In court, I have seen girls who had beautiful complexions now have horrible ones from heroin. You are also right that it isn't just young people who are addicted, older ones too, OxyContin is particularly bad. Still think the last court girl had a drug problem ---she had asked me if I had any pain pills from my operations. She claimed that she had liver cancer and the pain pills were the only way she could sleep, but hers were stolen and her dr wouldn't give her anymore. She also would ask other co-workers if they had anything. Very sad.

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ March 01, 2017

Yeah, when I see a bunch of scabs, I pretty much know they're doing hard drugs. Eldest son says the drugs makes their skin itchy and they pick at it. And I think your instinct on former co-worker is spot on. "Stolen" is the most common excuse, followed by "they fell in the toilet". Also, when someone tells me they had an operation, it doesn't occur to me to ask about their meds.

FitLadyDi March 01, 2017

Have you heard of the book "Dreamlamd" by Sam Quinones? It's about the opiate epidemic. I'm waiting to get it from the library, I'm on the list...it's a terrible epidemic and it does terrible things to your health. Don't forget to take care of yourself!

ConnieK FitLadyDi ⋅ March 01, 2017

I've not read it, but lived it with Nick. It's heartbreaking. I'd LOVE to take care of myself. I go on Medicare in October and intend to get my shoulder fixed (I suspect torn rotater cuff) after ten long years. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.