The life of a home student in It's a Suhaila!

  • Feb. 28, 2017, 11:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m getting into a routine now of doing my studies at home for the Open University. I’m blocking out a couple of hours a few times a day which are Suhaila-study hours. One block is in the afternoon when Jasmine settles for an afternoon sleep for a few hours, and the other block is in the evenings when mum and dad play grandparents for a while.

The actual work seems fairly straightforwards at the moment, but as I have heard from others, the first few months at university are not much more than an A-level refresher, and then you get your teeth into the real new and more advanced stuff. I could enjoy the challenge!

It’s incredible to think that Jasmine’s birthday is rapidly galloping towards me - she’s 9 months old already. I really want to have a party or something for her, but I don’t want to overwhelm her. I also want it to be when Salena is around, she’s going to be well in to the end of her third year at university so will have to probably arrange it so she can be home for the weekend.

I’m also trying to find out if there are other people living near me doing the same course as I am, and wondering if it might be an idea to suggest a ‘group study’ session where we might be able to get together and talk about the course and the work, maybe if someone is stuck on something another person might have a solution. I can’t drive so would be pretty limited as to where/when this could happen.

Scott - I’ve been on a few more dates with him and so far things seem to be going well. He’s not being pushy, it’s just nice having someone there who seems to be interested in me as a person. A lot of the talking so far has been getting-to-know-you, about likes, dislikes, hobbies etc. And our dates haven’t been much more than going out for walks which isn’t so bad neither. This seems to be going slowly which is good. When I look back, I slept with Jasmine’s father because of curiosity, with the ex-hose-name-is-never-to-be-mentioned because I wanted the affection with being with him, but with Scott, sex isn’t on the cards yet. I think if we are together for a while it will be, but not yet.


Deleted user February 28, 2017

Hope you can form your group. Good idea to go slow with Scott.

Complicated Disaster March 01, 2017

I'm interested to hear how you get on with Uni. I did Physics (some time ago!!) and it was a LOT more difficult than A-Levels from the start! xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.