kindle reading in looking for OD-ers

  • Jan. 27, 2014, 3:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A few months ago, I got an offer to receive a Kindle Fire from a website where I had "points". Since the device was free, I vowed always to get free books. I love the fact that books in public domain (the copyright is expired) are free. I've been re-reading the books of Gene Stratton Porter - I read most of them when I was growing up. Currently, I am reading Laddie, A True Blue Story.
The author wrote about 100 years ago, so it's a glimpse into lives, mostly rural, and the differences between men's and women's roles at the time.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 27, 2014

i love books like that. books about times in the past. can't imagine living back then when women had little say in their lives. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD February 10, 2014

I'm currently reading "The Gauguin Connection". It's a mystery where the main investigator has a high functioning form of autism. Aside from the usual copy editing issues, the book is good. When a write uses boar instead of boor, I worry about who'd edited the work.

Deleted user February 27, 2014

If you have an Amazon Prime membership, you can also borrow books. I believe no more than one per month, but when you have one out on loan, there is no return date. I am currently reading The Bloodletter's Daughter.

P.S. Hope you don't mind that I dropped in, even though I'm not originally from OD. I'm from Diaryland and LiveJournal, under a different name. I found OD when I was looking for a place where no one would know me, came upon an entry that talked about the technical problems and mentioned this site, so I came right here instead.

Darcy0207 from OD Deleted user ⋅ February 27, 2014

Why would I mind? I find that the person I exchange notes with the MOST here is not someone i knew from before. I decided not to get Amazon Prime. I might in the future. I have TONS of books both electronic and paper. I just don't feel the need to pay for something extra right now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.