Flap-flap-flappety-flap, dammit. in A New Beginning

  • Feb. 25, 2017, 7:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, our chocolate Lab Guinness has got some kind of ear affliction again, apparently, because he is constantly shaking his head and flapping his ears, which makes a loud clapping sound like sheets on the clothesline on an extremely windy day. We have eardrops for it, which say (on the bottle; the drops themselves don’t speak) to use them every few days. Joe puts them in every few days for a few days and Guinness quits flapping, and I enjoy the sound of silence. But then he starts flapping again, and I’m like: aaaaaarrrrrrrggggggghhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!! So when Mr. Man gets up this morning, I have to greet him with the glad tidings of, “YOU HAVE TO PUT GUINNESS’S EARDROPS IN AGAIN!!!!!” Because since I got up this morning, Guinness has flapped like mad approximately 25 times and I have not even been up for ten minutes.

Plus, several of those minutes Guinness was outside on his chain, getting stuck under the deck. I know, because of course I had to go out and get him unstuck. Damn. I hope this morning doesn’t presage the way this whole day is going to be!

Anyhow....this morning Joe and I are going to a Croning ritual for a member of my coven, Darlene Wachter, who is the oldest member of our Assembly at 73. I have gotten her some gifts I hope she will like. Darlene likes everything, really....it’s like HPS Annie told me, “She doesn’t have much of anything, so she likes everything!” I love people who are that way. :o) Or even if they have lots of stuff, y’know....people who appreciate, even LOVE, anything you give them. I’m like that, or even if I get something that doesn’t excite me, I act like it’s the greatest thing I ever got. Hey, sometimes it can turn out to be! Like for Christmas this year…Joey and his girlfriend Stephanie got me one of those awesome rice bags that you can heat in the microwave and lay against your sore parts. That really WAS great, because I used to have one; it got a hole in it and never really got fixed and ended up being tossed out, much diminished. So I was tickled to get a new one. But then they got me this little coin purse, which was pretty cheap and “made in China.” But I just went on & on about how much I loved it and how I really needed one because I never HAD one, and I got so tired of change falling everywhere. You know, I use that little coin purse! It is so handy to have it! For a coin purse, it is JUST RIGHT, not too small to go fishing around for coins in but not so big you’d think it was a real purse! ;o)

But darn it, I sure went off on a tangent there didn’t I? I was going to say what gifts I got for Darlene. There’s a book I read years ago, have read several times and absolutely LOVE, called “The Crone: Woman of Age, Wisdom, and Power” by Barbara G. Walker. I bought her a copy. I hope she likes it as much as I did. And since she loves coloring, I got her a Goddesses coloring book and an Owls coloring book. I decided (too late to order it) that I wanted to get her The Goddess Oracle Deck that Wendy and I have. I didn’t think it would get here in time, so I am giving her mine and I’ll probably order another one for me later. I might not. I really wanted one and loved it, because me & Wendy had been using hers together for a long time, but like with so many things, I’d slacked off on using it very often.

And I am also giving her those PRAYER BEADS I struggled so hard to make last weekend. I used them twice. They are really nice. But am I going to make a habit of using them????? Nooooooooooo, ‘fraid not. But they also make a very pretty bookmark! So Darlene can use them as prayer beads or as a bookmark!

Wellllllllll, turns out, Joe is not going with me because he developed a very sore throat overnight. He had darn well better stay home and warm, and take care of it!!!!! I had told Wendy, originally, that I’d come by her house early so we could visit before going to the ritual. Then I emailed her again to say sorry, I can’t, because Joe is coming with me. Now Joe’s not going, but I’m going to leave it as it is with Wendy. The last night she and I BOTH, TOGETHER, planned on me being at her house early to visit, I got there and she was still in bed! So she can stay in bed this morning too! ;o)

I had better get off here though, because I want to go to the grocery store on my way and get some kind of good bread to go with the egg salad I made to take. I hope ya’all have a loverly day!


thesunnyabyss February 25, 2017

Dash gets himself tangled up all the time too, I hope the eardrops take care of Guinness's ear issue,

have a good day today!!!

thesunnyabyss February 25, 2017

ps, I hope Joe feels better soon!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.