Feeling fed up again in The View from the Terrace

  • Feb. 22, 2017, 12:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m feeling fed up again. Yesterday I woke at 6.30 with what I call a threating migraine, the kind that hasn’t developed yet into a full blown attack. Sometimes, if I catch them early I can take 2 cocodamol and go back to bed for an hour or two and it will go. I needed to go to the bathroom and when I got there I found one of the cats had done his business on my new bath mat. I only put it down the day before. It was a bright orange long pile, very pretty and, as we are going for a seaside theme, I thought it might suggest a beach. Perhaps Hoshiko, our fluffy white cat thought it was sand! I really don’t know what’s the matter with that cat. He always used to be clean but for the past 18 months or so he has been doing this now and then. There was a tray in the kitchen, he is just plain naughty.

I started to clean it up, then stepped back for a moment and trod on my husbands cord trousers that he had left on the floor after his bath the night before, they were soaked with pee. Oh well, serve him right for not putting them away. Then I heard Hoshiko downstairs meowing loudly and somehow it was all just too much. By then my head was really throbbing and I washed my hands and went back to the bedroom in tears. Hubby woke, cursed when I told him what had happened and dealt with it. but by then my head was a lost cause and I took my regular migraine pill.

That meant that I was still suffering the side effects in the evening and didn’t feel up to going to our folk club. It’s only once a month and I missed January too. At times like this I feel as though I am only half alive. Hubby went last night and came home full of tales about what a great evening it was and how they asked where I was, which is lovely but somehow made me feel even sadder. Monday evening he was at his choir practice and this morning he has gone to his art group. I don’t really have a social life any more apart from the folk club. There was going to be a party organised by the helpline I volunteer for but I heard yesterday that has been cancelled due to a lack of interest. I suppose the other volunteer’s lives are too full.

It was Hubby’s birthday last week. I got him a video he has been wanting and some chocolates. I shouldn’t give him chocolates really as his is so overweight, but I just didn’t know what else to buy him. He is such a hoarder and our house is so full that I don’t want to get him more clothes. He likes new clothes but never throws out the old ones. He will say ‘That jumper keeps me warm’ and I will point out that so do his newer jumpers and that old white one is now grey and has holes in it, but he will say he’ll keep it for the garden even though he has half a dozen others for that purpose.

It’s our wedding anniversary on Tuesday so I have to get him another gift and I just don’t know what to get. I have bought him everything over the years already. He’s not a jewellery man. I’ve already given him a box for his art things and a mini easel. I bought him a bag for his music which for some reason he uses for his art even though it has musical notes on it! I will have to think of something today or it won’t get here in time.

I have a duty at the helpline tomorrow. I haven’t done one since I went to the dentist at the end of January. Dental treatment has always triggered my migraines and having a tooth out left me with one for 5 days running. I had to take the denture out because it was making me feel ill then when I tried it again after 5 days I couldn’t get it in. Then got it stuck out of position and had a heck of a job getting it out again. I have early arthritis in my fingers and they are not very strong. I am now afraid to try putting it in again. To be honest just looking at it makes me feel a bit sick. I’m not sure why but seems to link to a childhood memory when my great aunt took her teeth out in front of me when I was small and it shocked me. I couldn’t understand why her teeth came out and mine didn’t and Mum told me it was because she had lost her natural ones because she was old. So I guess wearing this denture makes me feel old. It’s not just that, though, I would try to overcome that but I am really scared of it getting stuck again. Hubby thinks I should ring the dentist and talk to her but I feel an idiot so I am not wearing it. I am nervous of going to meet people I know, though as I feel self conscious. They can’t consider a bridge or an implant until it has healed, at least 3 months so I am stuck with it, or without it!

Well, some good news, I just had a phone call from the doctor’s pharmacy and they have got the other migraine meds in at last, the ones that melt in your mouth and leave me with less side effects. I think I will go and do some yoga and try to get myself in a better mood and then look for an anniversary present for Hubby.


^..^Kat February 22, 2017

I'm sorry you've not been feeling well. It's hard to buy gifts for my hubby too, if he wants something, he goes and gets it. And he doesn't like buying new clothes, I finally got him to buy two new pairs of jeans this past weekend because the old ones were in horrible shape. :)

Sabrina-Belle ^..^Kat ⋅ February 22, 2017

I suppose I should be grateful my hubby does buy clothes, if only he would throw the old ones away!

Marg February 24, 2017

I can so relate to this. I've missed so many groups and meetings and suchlike through being ill. It's so isolating - people don't realise how much. One of my cats poops right beside his litter tray but luckily it's on the laminate flooring so easy to clean. Please don't punish your cat though - it's generally a sign of stress and sometimes they can take a liking to a new mat or rug and think it's been bought expressly for that purpose! Hope you get the denture sorted out - I had similar feelings when I got my first one - it's just one of those things you associate with being old I think. It should fit better than that though - I would give the dentist a shout just to check.

Sabrina-Belle Marg ⋅ February 26, 2017

I think you are right and the cat is stressed. We have a neighbour's cat who visits and they don't really like each other. I should stop him really but he is gorgeous!

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ February 27, 2017

That's probably it!

Deleted user February 26, 2017

When a Caleb , my cat did that ; he was ill. The first time the vet tested him for a uti , he found nothing. He suggested either my litter boxes were not clean enough or it was a behavior issue . He peed on rugs or anything on the floor for three months. I finally took him back to the vet and insisted he catheterize him and do blood work . Turns out he had a raging UTI that would have eventually ruined his kidneys. He is better now and using the box. No more peeing on the floor .
I would definitely call the dentist . They can make that denture fit better.
Maybe your husband would like a day trip somewhere :-) Happy Anniversary !

Sabrina-Belle Deleted user ⋅ February 26, 2017

Yes, I know about that as we had another cat who suddenly started peeing in the house and it was a UTI. With Hoshi though it's more pooping, that's the first time he's peed as well. He's seen the vet recently for a different problem and had blood tests which were clear. I think it may be that another local cat has started coming into our house, he is gorgeous and his owners are out all day, so I don't want to stop him. We will have to see how things go.

Deleted user Sabrina-Belle ⋅ February 27, 2017

Hope you can get Hoshi to stop. It's so annoying. I love cats but after this ordeal with Caleb I might not get any more when these three are gone :-( It makes your whole house smell although luckily he did not " spray" ,he just peed . I hate dealing with the litter boxes too. I suppose just having one cat would be manageable :-) I would like to have a parrot again so maybe I could get a kitten and a parrot so they would grow up together :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.