On being single in Talk Story

  • Feb. 17, 2017, 11:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

The harsh winter weather continues here on the coast… rain (heavy at times) and strong wind… guess that California is about to be hit with it as well…

I spent the afternoon with friends… a group of people that I have known for quite some time…

We played Mexican Train dominoes… a fun game… but every bit as important to me is the social interaction that accompany these times spent together…

Lots of stuff to snack on… interesting (non alcoholic) stuff to drink… lots of good natured teasing… lots of silliness…

No longer having family… single for a long… long time… I continue to revel in the friendships that have come my way since moving here…

At times… I still feel an emptiness… missing… well… not sure just what…

But ( yes… there’s always a “but” )…

I am incredibly grateful to be in the company of people who care about me…

Well… it’s the weekend… no plans… but then..............

Aloha oe…


TruNorth February 18, 2017

All my social life revolves around family - Mom, Hubbs, children, grandchildren. I miss having a best friend. I had one when we lived in the UK, but when we moved I never found another best friend. I would like to have a circle of friends but don't know where to find them at this age.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ February 18, 2017

Well... for me it was both reaching out to people... and accepting their invitations when offered to me...
It was either those two choices... or being alone...

crystal butterfly February 19, 2017

Sometimes there is something "missing". Even when married that feeling can come upon you. In my case it is the fact that the friend I could confide in the most now lives in another city and I cannot see her as often as I wish. And others when I would like to pick up the phone and talk to my parents.

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ February 19, 2017

I understand...
There were times when I was married... that I felt that "missing" feeling...

ConnieK February 19, 2017

Not all "families" are blood-related.

dream seeker February 25, 2017

I know that feeling well. I'm glad there are so many around you helping you fill that void. Hugs, my friend.

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ February 28, 2017

Thank you...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.