Snowdrops in The View from the Terrace

  • Feb. 15, 2017, 4:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I hate this miserable damp grey weather. It feels as if it has been like this for ever. It was really starting to get me down at the end of last week. Then on Monday the sun was out and, though it was still cold, I felt like a different person. I had to get out so we drove to Kentchurch where there are masses of snowdrops, it was so uplifting to see them. Afterwards we went to the garden centre to buy some. I have no luck with planting them, they never come back the next year and even if I leave them in their pots they don’t survive, but they are not expensive so I buy them each year. The only ones that thrive in our garden are at the bottom in the corner where we buried the dog 6 years ago. It’s rather nice to see them growing next to his headstone but to see them I have to get down the sloping lawn which is rather muddy after all of the rain so I only go there now and then. After that one bright day we are back to dull, damp and cloudy again.

alt text
alt text
alt text


ODSago February 15, 2017

Living as I do in a sunny environment I don't think I'd fare well in long gray winters but lovely sweeps of spring flowers like yours would help, and I'm glad they did for you.

^..^Kat February 16, 2017

Those are so pretty!

Marg February 17, 2017

So pretty and uplifting - glad they worked for you!

Deleted user February 18, 2017

I have never tried planting them. Maybe next Fall I will give it a shot :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.