Family update in Musings

  • Feb. 12, 2017, 9:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had an entire entry written out and somehow it got deleted. :( Here’s the basics for how everyone in my little family is doing

Alex: She has been sleeping through the night more consistently this week. In fact she only woke up one night and that was because she was sick and had fallen asleep dare without drinking a bottle. She isn’t quite mobile yet. She can roll both ways and scoot a little. She can kind of get up on her hands and knees but ends up backwards. She loves solids. She is mostly a very happy and very sweet baby. These last 6 months with her have flown by. We will be planning her 1 year party before you know it.

Leah: She is turning into such a big girl. She dresses herself, and even remembers to do things like brush her teeth without me asking. She’s slowly shedding the restless toddler attention span and is playing independently much longer. She is funny and always so excited about life. She knows all her letter sounds and we have been working on sounding out words. I don’t push her to learn this stuff she’s just a smart girl and loves to learn. She loves to help around the house and loves her baby sister. I can already see how bossy she’s going to be with her. But she also comforts her when she cries and always remembers to get her a toy when we are getting in the car. She can be stubborn and a handful but she’s also such a joy.

Nathan: He likes his job so far. It doesn’t use his skills quite as much as he would like but at least it is in his field. He was hired on technically in a temp position but they let him know this week that he is being offered a permanent position. He says he wants to work here a while and hopefully use it as a stepping stone to a better job. There is some possibility for promotion too so we will just see how it goes. I’m so proud of him for working hard every day for us. He’s coming out of the depression of being unemployed so long. I sure hope we never go through that again. He takes really great care of the girls and I love seeing his relationship with them grow. Our relationship is good too. We are stronger than ever really and I’m thankful we are back in a good routine with this job which takes away a lot of the stress.

Me: To be honest I was struggling with anxiety a lot since Alex was born. Not getting good sleep and not taking care of myself was taking its toll. But now that she’s sleeping better so am I. Plus I am eating better. I also have been taking time to just do things I want to do and not feeling guilty that I should be being productive. All the chores may not get done every day but I’m ok with that. I’m happier and it makes me a much better wife and mom. Nathan and the kids don’t care if there’s laundry that hasn’t been put away but they do care about having a less stressed wife/mom. I’m still doing my shop and enjoying it. I have a lot I want to update and improve and new ideas to implement but I’m taking time and not pushing myself too hard. I’m glad to be doing something creative and to be helping support my family a little bit. I have made a couple mom friends which is fun and talking with them and seeing they have all the same struggles really makes me feel normal.

That’s all for now. Sorry for any spelling or grammar errors. I’m typing on my kindle and this thing is hard to type on.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.