Stuff in Talk Story

  • Feb. 11, 2017, 12:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha from the southern coast of Oregon… and for a change… the sun is out… and it’s supposed to be a high of 55f today… so I am off to the beach with a friend…

Well… we have had several weeks of heavy rain… strong winds… turbulent seas… etc… and I for one am ready for summer (sigh)…

Also I am more than fed up with politics… what the heck is wrong with us as a country… we elected a guy that half the country hates… our politicians continue to act like small misbehaving children (though to be fair that casts a shadow on small misbehaving children)… and there doesn’t seem to be an end in sight for all of the mean-spiritedness on the part of the “news” media…

Well… the winter will eventually come to an end…

But I fear… the politics will not…

Thanks for drifting by… and for your continuing notes to me…

Aloha oe…


Deleted user February 11, 2017

Enjoy your beach day. :)

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ February 11, 2017

Thank you... tomorrow I plan on hiking along the coast... just enjoying our brief respite from the rain...

TruNorth February 11, 2017

Politics is quite a spectacle but I think its dreadful that people feel they have to hide who they voted for, fearful of insane attacks from the opposing side.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ February 11, 2017

Yes... so much passion... but of course that doesn't excuse the deplorable behavior on both sides...

dream seeker February 11, 2017

I'm doing my best to ignore the politics, but that's getting harder and harder to do. (And I'm beginning to feel a little cowardly/hypocritical for doing so).
We really haven't had a winter, other than one weekend. My wisteria and Mahaw trees are covered in blooms. The fig tree is budding out. My AC is on and I'm in shorts. As far as Mother Nature is concerned - spring is here.

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ February 11, 2017

No A/C here these days... but it did hit 60f this afternoon...

🌻StillJustMe🌸 Maui Jim ⋅ February 15, 2017

60f sounds lovely! LOL

ConnieK February 11, 2017

I don't think it's the news media's fault. They are simply reporting on the immature and oftentimes illegal behavior coming out of the White House.

Maui Jim ConnieK ⋅ February 11, 2017

In part... I think you are right... but I also believe that the news media creates stories to encourage dissent... and it's not just the white house... it's the senate and the congress as well...
Thanks for your note to me...
Aloha oe...

aunty EM February 12, 2017

When summer gets here, we will not be stuck inside with the TV on...and won't have to hear/see all the politics/"fake news". I, for one, can't wait!

Maui Jim aunty EM ⋅ February 12, 2017

Me as well...! (smiles)

ODSago February 12, 2017

A sunny hello from FL. I was totally in awe of those who had a picnic in Alaska when I was there for a conference on the beach in cold rain/drizzle gray sky -- I was wearing all the warm clothing I owned and there they were, jackets unzipped, hoods down have a fab time while the salmon roasted on the fire...when I read you went to the beach that memory floated up. Was it heroic or simply a break in the weather that allowed you to do that.

I need to rest today in order to somewhat shake last week's lingering stress from politics, before I begin the next week of this crazy political time with this profoundly unbelievable president I didn't vote for. I do hope those who write that Trump is likely to be legally unseated before the next four years pass or equally likely to simply quit the job and walk away over time are correct -- doubt it however.

crystal butterfly February 12, 2017

Chuckling this we be the 3rd election that we've elected someone that about 1/2 the country didn't want. Who knows, maybe someday there will be a good candidate run again? Doubtful, but, maybe.

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ February 13, 2017

For whatever the reasons... the "good" people are smart enough to stay away from the circus called Washington...
Sigh.............

🌻StillJustMe🌸 February 15, 2017

You have a good day, Maui Jim!

Maui Jim 🌻StillJustMe🌸 ⋅ February 15, 2017

Thanks... and I did...! (smiles)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.