How 'bout those Patriots?! in A New Beginning

  • Feb. 6, 2017, 3:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

That Super Bowl game sure was somethin’ last night! The Pats were down 28-3 at half-time and my three Pats fans here were just sitting in the living room with long faces. I am not into watching football anyway, and was terribly sore, so I went down to bed, watched the FANTASTIC half-time show, and then turned the tv off. I was so surprised when Joe came to bed later and told me the Patriots had WON. I was like, “How does that even happen?!?!?!?!” (I’m sure somebody will say they cheated!)
My sister Carol, who is the Patriots’ biggest fan of all, was so sad and depressed at half-time that she was almost crying, so she gave up and went to bed too. But she sure was a happy lil camper when she got up this morning and found out that her team had rallied and won! I can’t wait to gloat about it just a teeny bit at work tomorrow. :o) No one at work is a big Falcons fan, but of course they all hate the Patriots, because people do! Everyone EXCEPT their fans anyway! :oD !!

It has been a fun day today, except for my terribly sore hip and leg. But I’ve made do. My sisters and I went up to Dover to Olive Garden for my birthday lunch. On our way there, we stopped at my school, and they went in with me (no one was there today except teachers and custodians) and helped me decorate my serving line. I wish I’d taken my camera along, so I could’ve taken some pictures of it. It looks so great! It’ll be the envy of all serving lines everywhere! :oD !! It was really fun, showing my sisters where I work. Now when I tell them stories about work, they’ll be able to picture the goings-on better. :o)

I have given up on the extra-strength tylenol for now. It is not doing a damn thing for this hip pain. Before we went out today, I decided that since I haven’t taken any Aleve in ages, I’d try three of those. It might have helped a bit. Mid-afternoon I tried three regular-strength aspirin. Eh.....nuthin. Joe said, “Aren’t you taking things that shouldn’t be taken together?” I said, “Joe, we chronic pain people don’t give a shit about that. We’re just trying to find some damn RELIEF.” Then he stood and looked sad. I told him he really doesn’t have to do that; I know he’d help however he could, and it’s ok. I just tell him how it IS because I’m not into putting on a pretense. He sees me having some fun and laughing about something-or-other on a daily basis, so it’s alright for him to also know that I’m sore or in pain.

I think that too many women do too much pretending. Some just don’t want to appear weak; others are trying to “spare” the people they love. But I always figure....almost everyone is going to be weak or incapacitated in some way, at some point. If we talk about our experience and show them HOW we cope with it, they can learn from us things that might one day help them.

All that being said, I sure look forward to being pain-free again! :o) !!

But I tell you....I have been sitting my ass on my heating pad for the last hour, while I cook supper and type this, and it has sure helped!

I can’t wait to hear what the others think of my beeeee-yootiful serving line tomorrow. It is the first time I’ve decorated the line! :o) !!

Welp, supper’s almost ready so I’m gonna go set the table and stuff. I hope you have a good evening, friends!


thesunnyabyss February 06, 2017

Joe's a good man,

and chronic pain sucks,

hugs

Ragdolls February 07, 2017

Happy Birthday!

woman in the moon February 12, 2017

I like the idea of decorating the hot lunch line. (The term 'hot lunch' dates me, oh heck)
I'm glad you and your sisters are close - it's nice to read and think about.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.