currently reading in looking for OD-ers

  • Jan. 26, 2014, 2:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ruth Gordon was quite the actress! She also had QUITE the life! This book pulls no punches. She names names... actually drops names... she ran in quite an interesting circle. I am sure I've heard of maybe a tenth of the people she names in the book. It's a large book, three sets of photographs, written in a fast reading, breezy style. I find myself reading more rapidly than usual... feeling breathless. She describes how difficult it was for an ingenue to break into theater - the casting couch and all that. She describes the jet set before the jets were popular - going from town to town, living in hotels, traveling back and forth to Europe by ship. She was in MANY plays and movies. I only got to see her in a few when she was much older. I loved Harold and Maude. I always felt that Maude's character was close to that of the actress, herself.


Spinster January 29, 2014

I don't think Ive ever hear of that actress. Ive got a biography on my nightstand of Jim Henson which I'm looking forward to reading.

Darcy0207 from OD January 30, 2014

She played the old lady in Harold and Maude. It's a cult classic - see if you can find a way to watch it.
Boy she DID get around! Born in 1896! Many of the people she mentions in the book now have Broadway theaters named for them. She even spent time with the person the Tony Awards (like the Oscars, but for theater) is named for.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.