Black Sabbath! Granda is 90! in Diary

  • Feb. 4, 2017, 4:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think I’ve got out of the holiday with Annette and Tina. I sent her text along the lines of “My work is making it too awkward to get the time off that you need, I don’t mind if you go ahead without me. Now you’ve said you might be able to get a disabled room with a wet room, do you think you’ll be able to do it on your own?” and she replied something like “It’s ok, I’ve got a couple of friends I can first. If not I should be ok on my own.” I’ve seen her since and she didn’t mention it or seem off with me or anything, so I think I’ve managed to come out of it unscathed…!

Last weekend was a busy one. I took Dave to Loughborough to meet my friends for a birthday party. It was a very sedate party; this lot used to be a lot more rowdy. Playing drinking games, getting stoned, play fighting and breaking things, loud music, partying until daybreak. This time, we walked in and, although there were about 20 people there, it felt more like a funeral wake. Everyone was deathly silent. There were a couple of card games and board games going on but it felt like we were in a library or something! I was a bit embarrassed that I had taken Dave all that way and he’s going to think my friends are boring! It didn’t seem like he was enjoying it, but he said he’s just quiet around new people; I know how he feels.

We stayed overnight and the next morning I drove us down to Oxford for my roller derby game. We lost horribly, but it was only a friendly so I don’t mind. I was playing against people who were a lot better than me, so it was a good learning experience as that always encourages me to up my game, so I always appreciate the opportunity to improve. Sadly, Dave didn’t really enjoy it so I haven’t managed to convert him to the ways of roller derby. So I don’t think he’ll be coming to watch again. Oh well, I’m pleased he gave it a go, I’ll just have to carry on playing without any of my own beerleaders (as they call the fans).

On Thursday, mam, dad and Sonja came down for the Black Sabbath concert. Dave ended up having Jay’s ticket, even though he’s never listened to them before and doesn’t like heavy music. I had tried to give it to several other people but none of them could come for various reasons. Of course Jay should have been there, he really loved his music and appreciated a good guitar solo. But he couldn’t be there, so someone else had to go in his place. The meeting of Dave and my family seemed to go well, but there wasn’t much opportunity for conversations as we were either sitting in the car, or sitting in a row at a heavy metal concert. We didn’t have time to go for a drink or anything. We’ll have to do that next time. Mam seemed very keen to make sure I wasn’t getting into a serious relationship, so I told her I just really wanted a friend right now. Which is partly true; I’ve never really had friends but I hate being on my own; I seem to be a serial monogamist. I like having one special person to talk to and do things with.

Me and Sonja.


Lots of balloons!

I shared a hotel room with Sonja and found out that she talks in her sleep. She has proper loud conversations with someone. So I barely got any sleep as we had a late night anyway. Some things she talked about include: “No, if we get off here we’ll only have to get back onto the motorway.”
“He wasn’t sick, he just felt a bit queasy.”
“Well I have to be at the hospital for 11am.”
“21?? 21?! Shell only had two, I can’t imagine having 10 times as many as that!”

And my personal favourite on the creepy scale; “Prince of Darkness
Prince of Darkness
Prince of Darkness
Prince of Darkness.”

Yesterday I drove back up to Cumbria with everyone as it was my granda’s 90th birthday and everyone had organised a sort of surprise party in the house. All their children, most of their grandchildren and many great-grandchildren were there. It was a lovely day, everyone was happy and laughing and having a great time. Dad decided to set up various family groups for some photos. They started with my grandparents and their five children (my mam and her four brothers and sisters.) They just wouldn’t behave; dad said it was like trying to to get a box of frogs to sit still lol. These are two of my favourites.



Here he is with his cake. I think he looks good for 90!




And he had an announcement in the paper :o) 90! 90!

Today I’ve had a lazy day. I’ve been out with dad to walk the dog and I’ve been grocery shopping with my mam. Apart from that, I’m not doing an awful lot. Which makes a nice change as I’m normally rushing about from the second I open my eyes in the morning until I go to bed! Now I’ve got the internet at home again, I’m hoping I can catch up on the many many blog entries I’ve been missing.


Perpetually Plump February 04, 2017

I love me some Black Sabbath! Ozzy's voice is magical!
None of the pix came up for me, unfortunately!

Bomb Shell Perpetually Plump ⋅ February 04, 2017

Black Sabbath is a special one for us, mam and dad used to go and see them when they were dating in 1971 and Sabbath were just starting out and playing small pubs. This is their final tour 40 years later, so it's nice to think mam and dad were there at the very beginning and still with them right at the end :o)

Sorry you couldn't see the photos, I linked them from Facebook and it normally works, even for people who aren't on my Facebook friends list.

Camdengirl February 04, 2017

Think you did exceptionally well getting out of the holiday!

Babe In Toyland February 04, 2017

I think, if I were Dave, that would have been the perfect family meet: meeting us but not having to make conversation! I hope I made him happy by calling him lovely, haha!

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ February 04, 2017

Lol technically it was me who called him lovely, you were talking about Dave Grohl :-p

Yes I think I would prefer to meet people that way as well, less overwhelming especially when there are are three new people all at once.

Lucretia February 07, 2017

Glad you got out of the holiday, phew!
I can't believe your granddad's 90, he's looking great!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.