School Update in In the Meadow

  • Feb. 2, 2017, 12:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The school year is moving right along. Kayla and Timmy are adjusting to high school. There is more freedom than they are used to and that has been something to get used to. We helped them work out a schedule for when to go to their lockers and how to get around the building in the most efficient way. We try to get their homework done fairly early because they get tired at night. They really haven’t developed the teenage sleeping clock yet where they can stay up late and sleep late. I think I wasn’t able to stay up late until my junior year of high school, so maybe they will take a while to develop this too.

Aaron is in sixth grade. He is in his last year of elementary school. He likes his teacher and school most of the time. He spends almost as much time on his homework as the twins do. I wonder about this because he doesn’t have as much homework as they do. I think he doesn’t want to feel left out so he takes longer to finish his homework? He doesn’t seem to have a problem finishing tests and other work on time in class, so it seems like just an at-home thing.

I may have made it sound like they have lots of after school activities. They did have practice every day when Timmy was doing soccer and Kayla was doing diving, but now they just have after school activities two days a week. Kayla is in the school musical and won’t have to be there every day until the last week. Timmy has ice hockey twice a week.

I have my dental check-up this week. I’ve been having some soreness in my gums, and the dentist thinks I need more frequent cleanings. I got an electric toothbrush that I use all the time. Before I would alternate between an electric toothbrush and regular toothbrush, but just using the electric toothbrush seems to help. I like how polished my teeth look after I get a cleaning. I have thought about using a whitening toothpaste but am concerned because I have had problems with weak enamel. I think I will ask the dentist about using a whitening toothpaste.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.