A Question in Grandma and me

  • Jan. 26, 2014, 2:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Gma Mon 1-25-1982

4 below and had a high of 13 above. Not a thing going on but at least we are warm and have plenty to eat.

Gma Thur 1-25-1990

26 and about an inch of snow. 32 was high. butch did our chores this morning. He and Chuck ate dinner with us. Been a long time. Sure enjoyed them.

Gma Sat 1-25-1992

30 but wind come in from northwest early morning and was cold. Sharon and Butch come down and did the chores. Took the 4 by washed it and got gaoline. Butch and dog brought it back about noon with a little bale of hay from up at his house. We went in to hospital after noon to get the “stuff” pop is to take before the CT scan Monday. a chilly windy day.

 photo cdizzy2005_zps594e6a86.jpg

Me Sat 1-25-2014

I’m having a problem with my 4 readers confusing my paragraphs from 2004 with my paragraphs from 2014. Any suggestions on how I could make it clearer? I thought about putting my current stuff at the top then doing Grandma then me from 2004. I was going to scan some pictures from the 80’s and 90’s but Ive got a new printer and a new computer and cant figure out how to get the pics scanned. Guess I need to get out the magnifying glass and try to read the printers manual. Low vision sucks.

Another dull Saturday. Next weekend I’m planning on going to St Joe to have Jean do my taxes then we will go out to dinner so that will be fun. Hopefully Gina and Lainie wiill join us. Angie gave me more homework, goal setting, so I need to work on that.

Good Things I did for me

Ran 5 miles in 75 minutes which is pretty terrible. When I’m going for a long run I put my coat over the time and speed so I dont constantly look at it, but I need to get to where I can do five miles in an hour so I’ve got to start at least using and looking at the pace button so I can push myself closer to the goal of 5 miles in an hour

Stayed in calorie range

Fought off a mild urge to buy bad things at the grocery and then binge. I was hungry when I went to the store which was a mistake.

Gratitudes

Good books. I finished A Street Cat Named Bob last night about a homeless guy who takes in a cat who saves his life. It was good but would have been better if the cat wasn't a ginger. I need to meet a nice ginger cat so I get over this ginger prejudice. :) Also reading FanGirrl about a college freshman who is having a hard time adapting to real life and college and leaving behind the world of fan fiction. I just started it this afternoon and now I’m going to get some McDonalds oatmeal and settle in for a good read.


edna million January 26, 2014

Maybe put asterisks between the different diary sections? I know there is also a way to do different sized fonts, although I haven't done that myself- in Simple Mind's instruction page he tells how to do it. That would probably help too..

That is funny about ginger cats--- my BFF has an ancient ginger cat who I absolutely love, but he is really is very ill-tempered and cranky, and has been all of his life (he's 22 years old). And I've never known a calico cat who wasn't a sweetheart.

~Katherine January 26, 2014

I noticed the year right away but I read slowly and pay attention. Some people evidentally rush through so they can read more but comprehend less. ha. I've noticed so many times a diarist will specifically explain something and then there's always a noter who asks the question that's already been answered. But, I guess for the ones who don't notice the different year, you could just put a heading over the past journal entries and say something like "On this day in 1982:" Then put a line under the old ones and put "Back to to now" or something like that before writing your current entry.

I wish I had started journaling way back when......the writing I did before I started a journal in 1996 was mostly snail mail letters. I've found some of the letters I wrote to my mother when I was living in Virginia 1965-72 but they don't really tell the WHOLE story of my life back then. If only I'd made copies of letters sent to close friends -- I'd love to read about the person I was back then. Or maybe not. heh. For some reason it never occurred to me to keep a journal even though friends would often compliment my writing and tell me I should "do something with it."

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.