Hubby's colds in The View from the Terrace

  • Jan. 31, 2017, 11:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not sure how this works but every time I need emotional support from Hubby he gets a cold. It sounds extrodinary and he totally denies it but I am sure it is true. The most traumatic time this happened was when our first child was born. Hubby has booked a weeks holiday from work to start the day I returned from hospital. In those days father’s didn’t get paternity leave. The day after I arrived home he started to go down with one and eventually went bed after asking me to bring him up some soup for lunch. I didn’t point out then that I had just had a baby and he had taken this week off to support me. I dutifully made the soup in between struggling breastfeeds and nappy changes and took it up to him. I asked him how he was and he said awful but what a good job it had happened this week when he didn’t have to go to work! That did it. I burst into tears.

It has happened endless times since, whenever I really need him he gets a cold, so I wasn’t that surprised when yesterday evening, the night before my appointment to have my tooth out, he told me he wasn’t feeling at all well. I ignored him I’m afraid, but this morning he started going around with that miserable look. Eventually when I asked what we could have for lunch he said I expect I’m only up to soup, it’s always soup when he has a cold. If I have a cold I eat the same as normal and am usually quite hungry but he just has soup. I thought it was me who would need the soup today!

As if that wasn’t enough one of the cats who hasn’t been well is not looking too good so we have had to arrange to see the vet this evening, and now power has started to cut off every time we turn the kettle on though it’s OK if you turn the washing machine off first. That used to happen but had been fine since the house was rewired.

It never rains but it pours is what my mother used to say.


^..^Kat January 31, 2017

I'm sorry that he flaked out on you again. I'd tell him make his own soup, you have things to do. :)

Deleted user January 31, 2017

Sorry this happens to you. Like Kat said, I would tell him to make his own soup and help you when you need it.

Marg February 07, 2017

It's that 'mothering' you spoke about in your comments which works so well when we're ill - I think that's the missing ingredient!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.