Returning to Study in It's a Suhaila!

  • Jan. 31, 2017, 12:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

After two weeks of old (and often clear and sunny!) weather, today it’s raining. Checking the forecast it looks pretty miserable for the week, so looks like I’m going to be stuck indoors.

Jasmine is really going to be a handul, I’m more than sure of that now! She’s trying to explore every gap, nook and cranny she can find - luckily she has worked out that crawl has a reverse gear setting. She’s also started to try and pull herself upright on chairs and the sofa. With those beautiful green eyes she has you can’t help but smile.

Which brings me on to something else about Jasmine. I have been asked if I feel any pressures or similar because Jasmine is mixed race (half white, half Indian), and if I feel I’m being put out because of it. And, the answer is yes, some elements of the community do comment on it. But, I am now adopting the middle finger attitude as I like to say it. Jasmine could be purple with yellow spots for all I care, but she’s MY daughter and that is the only thing that matters. I’m past caring what others think. It’s more than worth it every time those little eyes look up at me and you can’t help but smile.

Jasmine’s father is still coming around on a regular basis to see her. I’m really happy about that. Partly being selfish because I get breaks, but also partly because she is going to grow up having bonded with her father. I didn’t think this time last year, when she was a growing bump, that this was going to be the situation.

I start my Open University next month. Eeek. Suddenly scary!! I think I’ll be okay though, I expect Salena will be getting bombarded with “Help how do you do this” emails from me soon enough!!

I need to find some brain food for the studies I think!


Deleted user February 03, 2017

I am shocked it's even an issue :-(

Deleted user February 05, 2017

So glad that jasmines father is around now!!!! Little girls need their dads.

I think the mix of light and dark skin colors is beautiful. And with green eyes no less! Lucky girl.

Good luck at university, you'll do great :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.