EPP Projects in Crafts

  • Jan. 25, 2017, 10:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday after work I ran to Joann’s to take advantage of a couple of coupons that were expiring. I bought material for my first baby blanket. Actually, it was the first time I bought matching material for a blanket. I have been using charm packs and some fat quarters that I had bought at the very beginning so nothing was really matching the way they should. But yesterday I made a list of what I needed and went to Joann’s. I bought all the material I needed, stopped at Kroger’s and bought a pack of Color Catchers and went home. I got all the material ready to wash and handed it over to Cap. I admitted that I didn’t wash the material that I used in my blanket and so I was anxious to see how the blanket looked after I washed it. ! So I had Cap throw that into the washer with the rest of the material.

There was no color bleeding, I guess thanks to the Color Catcher. I even had some white material in there which came out white. And I think my blanket looks okay. It is obviously a first try. You can really tell that on the back. But on the whole, I am pleased with it as I cuddle under it while watching tv.

This is the front.
alt text
And this is the jacked up back. You can tell I didn’t have it on the hoop correctly sometimes, and there are poofs of material that should have been pulled flat. But for a first try I am not going to gripe about it.
alt text

I am happy. And just for me, I am posting the pics of my tote that I just made. I put pics in my daily book but want to have them here, too, in case I start looking for them.

alt text
alt text

And also a pic of my EPP bag that I made that stays on the arm of my chair. I have since put in a scissor holder and a pin cushion in the middle of the inside so I have everything at my finger tips.
alt text
alt text

Okay, all the pics are in one place, now. I am happy.

I also found a neat pack of 25 hexagons that are plastic. See, when I first started I basted through the paper hexagons to hold my fabric on them. But then I learned a technique where I can baste the fabric without going through the hexagons. I have gone through so many paper hexagons that I decided to give the plastic ones a try. I am liking them a lot!

The baby blanket will have sheep, grass and flowers on it. I made the first sheep last night and even though I had to redo the ears a couple of times (Cap kept saying that the ears made them look like bears) I finally got a doable sheep. Then there are green squares for grass, a flower square and they all go together to eventually become a blanket. Since it is a smaller blanket I hope I have better control of the back fabric when I start hand quilting it. I guess all that comes with practice and remembering what I did wrong the first time.


stargazing January 25, 2017

When you sandwiched the quilt together, did you pin the layers together before you started quilting them? Some people will also baste the layers together with thread. That will help keep the back straight.

Flyte stargazing ⋅ January 25, 2017

I basted them together. Do you think I should pin them maybe more frequently? I just basted them along the edges. Maybe that is what I did wrong? I really need to figure out the back for the baby quilt I am making. Any suggestions would be great!

stargazing Flyte ⋅ January 25, 2017

Yes, definitely pin/baste all over. Here's what I do. When I'm layering the quilt, I put the bottom on the floor first. I take straight pins and pin the bottom to the floor, making sure everything is nice and flat. Or you can tape it to the floor or hard surface. Then I put down my batting...then the top. Then I pin every 4 inches or so all around the quilt in a grid. My mom pins closer together. The pins drive me crazy tho, and I haven't had an issue with pinning 4 inches from each other. For smaller quilts, I've also used spray basting. I do that the same as above, but spray the basting spray on the bottom, then put down the batting...spray the batting...then put down the top. You have to be sure to put down a sheet or some sort of barrier first, otherwise the spray will go all over your floor, and it is sticky. I also only do it on the small quilts b/c it's difficult to get your batting and fabric placed down properly when it gets too big. (That's just my opinion tho--plenty of ppl use it on large quilts). I have also used a batting that will baste together your layers when you iron them. I like these last two options, but they will gunk up your needle, so you will be constantly cleaning it. Here is a picture/instructions on what Craftsy recommends: https://www.craftsy.com/blog/2015/04/how-to-baste-a-quilt/ Hope that helps!

Flyte stargazing ⋅ January 25, 2017

Wow! Lots of information. Thanks so much! I am just limping along right now. I feel I have the EPP part down, but I have a long way to go with the hand quilting and the sandwich. I did see some spray basting when I was at Joann's last night and had no idea it was used to put quilts together.

stargazing Flyte ⋅ January 25, 2017

You'll get there! I was fortunate enough that my Mom quilted when I was little. And her great grandmother quilted. So I learned a lot from my mom. I've also taken quite a few classes at Craftsy...it's a wonderful platform. There are a ton of quilting classes on there, and you have access to the class at any time as often as you wish. Before my Dad died, I was working on hand quilting. I bought a Thimblelady thimble and learned her way of quilting, which was easier for me. I also got a hoop like this except larger: https://www.amazon.com/Morgan-7-Inch-10-Inch-Stand-Combo/dp/B000A8AZJI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1485372310&sr=8-1&keywords=hoop+with+stand It sets in your lap...I found it much easier than holding just the hoop. Anyway...sorry if this was information overload. There aren't many ppl that I can talk quilting with. ;) If you ever have any questions, just holler.

stargazing January 25, 2017

BTW, great job!

Deleted user January 27, 2017

Those things are so pretty ! I have no sewing skills :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.