Hurry Up and Wait in Day by Day

  • Jan. 22, 2017, 8:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Much of Florida is under a tornado watch or warning at this hour. So far, our area has seen a couple of gusty storms (it’s quiet now), but the storm is hitting hard just 15 or 20 miles north. I swear I live in the best little spot in the state. Our last hurricane was Donna, back in the 60s. The year four hurricanes hit Florida, our area was brushed by…Irene, I think. A few thousand without power, but we never even had a brief interruption…not even a flicker. Still, we are always prepared. We know which room we’ll retreat to, we know where we’ll evacuate, if need be, we always have emergency food and water plans, alternative lighting, and a couple of generators. My thoughts are with my fellow Floridians who are in the line of the approaching squall line.

Our tenants are accepting the renewal terms. I went easy on them, but pretty much got what I wanted. They did ask to retain the 5 day grace period (I’d wanted to cut it back to three days). He said that he’s paid twice a month and that sometimes the 20th was too far from a paycheck. I explained to him that a grace period should be an emergency perk, but for the past year, he’d not paid the rent on the 20th once. I reminded him that the rent due date was NOT the 25th. So I made him a deal. If he would make more of an effort to get the rent to me closer to the 20th than the 25th, I’d leave the 5 day grace period alone.

He also wanted a 2 year lease like the last one, but I told him with this new presidency, I just couldn’t lock in like that. Too many unknowns. He understood and they were very grateful that I only raised the rent $60. He knows his rent is still $150 lower than the low end of what 4 bedroom homes go for around here. They’re good tenants. He feels I’m a good landlady (I am!). I’m glad they’re staying and he is, too. Win/win.

The first quarter of every year hits us hard in the wallet. Property taxes (some years I pay these early, but every other year, this falls due in January) in January, house insurance and business liability insurance in February, rental house insurance in March. Oh, and Federal taxes in April. So I’m DOUBLY glad I don’t have to be looking for a new tenant!

My magazine articles were well-received. The editor told me he’s expanding to more pages, so he’ll need more articles. I’m over the moon, of course. Right now, my writing focus is on the non-profit. Requests have quieted, mostly because we haven’t been advertising. We’ll have a booth at the festival in February (we’re in the “Social Awareness” section) and requests will pick back up once word gets out again, so we’re building the bank and using the time for administrative concerns (never.ending.)

I’m doing something very hard. I am getting rid of memories, going through the things I saved for Nick: his baby blanket, embroidered with his name and birth date, his high school yearbooks and football trophies, items personal only to him. Now that he’s gone, besides myself, there’s no one to cherish them. I’d rather decide what happens to them than leave it for his brothers to deal with. Lots of heartache in this, but it needs to be done and I cannot turn it over to anyone else. We’re closing in on two years. It isn’t getting any easier. I’m just learning to survive with the hole. Sorry. That made me cry, so I know you are, too.

The storm is picking up, so I’ll post this and unplug. Back later when the weather improves.


Shattered January 22, 2017

Prayers for you & everyone affected. Prayers for peace to your aching heart.

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ January 22, 2017

Thanks, Storm. Prayers are ALWAYS welcome. HUGS

Shattered ConnieK ⋅ January 22, 2017

You're often in my thoughts Connie. ❤️

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ January 22, 2017

I know. And I appreciate it. There's nothing any of us can do but let me get through it. I'm surrounded by good people. Including you. :)

Shattered ConnieK ⋅ January 22, 2017

Aww, thank you. :)

GypsyWynd January 22, 2017

{{Hugs}}

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ January 22, 2017

Love you.

Ferret Mom January 23, 2017

Around here when there are tornado watches or warnings everyone just goes about their day like nothing is happening. :)

How heartbreaking, trying to figure out what to do with Nick's things. (hugs)

ConnieK Ferret Mom ⋅ January 23, 2017

I think warnings should be taken seriously, especially in your area, but everyone here just freaked out as if it was a done deal that they'd be hit. Have a plan and utilize it if necessary. Other than that, there's no sense in panicking.
Thanks. HUGS

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.