Clothes in Transition

  • Jan. 21, 2017, 5:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had a bit of a clear out today. I was feeling strong so I’ve bagged up some of Jay’s clothes. All of his pants and socks are in a bin bag in the bin. There are three bin bags of his clothes which I’m going to give to charity. However, I only felt strong enough to bag up the clothes I’ve either never seen him wear or only seen him wear a couple of times. His favourite clothes I couldn’t part with yet, so I don’t know what I’m going to do with those. The last clothes he wore outside are still hanging up where he left them on a hook in the bathroom. Urgh I’m such an idiot.

While I was sorting through one drawer, I found a pair of women’s purple jeans and a purple dress that were still in the packaging and he had bought four or five years ago! They’re in my size so I’m going to assume they were for me and he never got round to giving me them for some reason, so I’m keeping those.

Still so much to sort out. I hope I’ll eventually manage it all before I have to move, if I do it bit by bit.


mutedexposure January 21, 2017

Why dont you keep a few pieces of favorite clothing and making a memory quilt?

Babe In Toyland mutedexposure ⋅ January 21, 2017

I've seen those memory quilts before. Some of them are quite beautiful.

Babe In Toyland January 21, 2017

Well done on being so strong. Loves.

Camdengirl January 21, 2017

Why not ask friends/family if they would like anything? For one thing, I think I'd feel better knowing it was going to someone who knew him. And secondly it might be something they would really like? And get it all out the house?

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ January 21, 2017

Already tried that. Jay's best friend took all his music stuff; guitars, amps, mixing desk, effects pedals etc.

His dad wants his CDs sonive bagged them all up but he lives in Derbyshire so I don't know how to get them to him. He's asked Jay's sister to pick them up but she doesn't want to get involved as their mum doesn't want him to have them, even though she doesn't want them herself, so I'm stuck with them for now.

Jay's cousins said he wanted some of his t shirts, CDs etc but I keep asking him when he's coming and never had a response.

Basically, it's easier said than done...

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ January 21, 2017

Already tried that. Jay's best friend took all his music stuff; guitars, amps, mixing desk, effects pedals etc.

His dad wants his CDs sonive bagged them all up but he lives in Derbyshire so I don't know how to get them to him. He's asked Jay's sister to pick them up but she doesn't want to get involved as their mum doesn't want him to have them, even though she doesn't want them herself, so I'm stuck with them for now.

Jay's cousins said he wanted some of his t shirts, CDs etc but I keep asking him when he's coming and never had a response.

Basically, it's easier said than done...

Camdengirl Bomb Shell ⋅ January 21, 2017

I think maybe you should make an excuse that the estate agents have asked you to declutter... If they haven't picked up by X date, it's all getting donated.

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ January 21, 2017

Yeah I've tried that as well...

history of love January 22, 2017

it's a difficult thing to do. I like the idea of a memory blanket that someone above suggested.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.