Icky in 2016

  • Jan. 20, 2017, 11:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We have a mouse in the house. Or most likely a family. This happens every winter. We have a dirt crawl space below the house no basement. The cat was acting weird so we knew they were back. Hubby decided to put out a couple of traps, in the one room we know where the issue is. Apparently the mouse was stealing pieces of the dogs dry food. Ick, icky I don’t even want to think about it.
So he comes in to show me the traps and tell me all about the traps. I very nicely said to him that I understood that this needed to be done, but I don’t want to know ANYTHING about it. Just take care of it. Not even 5 minutes later he comes in asking me to put PB on a plastic knife for the trap. I looked at him and said what did you not understand about what I just said??
Fast forward to the middle of the night. Baby wakes me up to tell me she has a headache. I get up and give her an advil and get her back into bed. I go into the bathroom and I can’t really see clearly since I don’t have my glasses on. I see what looks like in blurry vision a small piece of wood. I’m thinking weird what is it. I bend over to look and clearly see its the trap upside down with a dead mouse still attached to it. I like jumped a mile. Luckily I managed not to scream. The cat must have been having a good time with it. There was NO way I was touching it. And I couldn’t leave it there either. I had to go wake up hubby so he could remove the body.
Ick, just Ick.


Pies on a Carousel January 20, 2017

Interesting that you don't have a basement. That's common out here but unusual where you live.

I guess it's good that you didn't scream.

Happy Girl Pies on a Carousel ⋅ January 20, 2017

we live in a ranch built in the 1950's. Most of the house on our street don't have basements.

Beret January 22, 2017

Mice. Yuck. We haven't had too much of a problem in this house. But I would get them every fall in the previous house.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.