the arctic is no respecter of fashion. in shiny things

  • Jan. 24, 2014, 1:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am tired of winter. I am SO SO SO tired of winter. We're currently experiencing our second Polar Blast of the month, and right now it's 14 degrees (F). Last night it was down to four. Four above 0. Not quite as bad as the last Polar Blast when it was EIGHT BELOW ZERO, but. Still. I am not made for this kind of torture. And I know I always whine about our winters, but. SERIOUSLY. This is madness.

Ice. Flow. Nowhere to go!!! Ice. Flow. Nowhere to go!!!

I hate having to scrape ice off my car in the morning. I hate having to wear gloves and a hat and earmuffs and a down vest and a down jacket and two pairs of socks and then not only can I not move thanks to being so layered that I look like Cartman, or pick things up without taking my gloves BACK off and then I drop them and have to fumble the fuck around to get them back on, or hear anything thanks to my ears being covered up... AND I"M STILL FUCKING COLD!!! My office is never above 68 degrees (and YES, that is COLD, dammit) even after my illegal space heater has run all day long. It's generally about 55 when I come in. Sometimes it's colder than that!! It's the price I pay for my lovely and obviously completely unweatherwised windows that the icy air howls through all day. It could be worse... SNOW was coming though the windows in my boss's office.

I'm late for everything (even more than I'm usually late for everything) because I am never ever prepared and I can't find my hat and I can't find my gloves and I can't find warm socks and I never remember to start my car ahead of time so it's frozen and icy and I have to scrape it and of course I can never find a scraper either, never mind that I've used it every damned day this week. And everything takes ten times longer than it should when you're bundled up until you can barely move.

My head is stopped completely up, while my nose is running constantly, which I would not think is even possible. I can't sleep because I can't breathe and I have a fountain for a nose. My head hurts and if you're guessing I might be a tad cranky, hey, you'd be right! Even the poor cats are getting on my nerves, and we won't even mention how snapish I've been with Baker B. Who is no fan of cold weather either, incidentally. Or how much I hate the students and my workmates and the other drivers I encounter who are all complete and total idiots and... well, everybody, really.

I seriously think I have a pathologically deranged reaction to winter, and it just gets worse every year. Most people can just bundle up and carry on, but I fall completely to pieces. I rage like a crazy person, then I collapse into the floor and weep hysterically. Well, I want to do those things... mostly I've kept a very tenuous grip on myself, but believe you me, it's weakening. Especially when I read that there is no end in sight to this deep-freeze.

Well. I suppose I've whined enough for one entry.


Jhawk January 24, 2014

I guess I shouldn't complain about our arctic blast here in Houston today? Wanna talk about a lot of whining over 1/4 inch of ice. We are wusses. LOL

My shiny new Sea-Doo sits winterized in the garage just dying for summer. /sigh

edna million Jhawk ⋅ January 24, 2014

Oh hai!!! I didn't know you were here!!!

I'm a wuss too and I live in a place that you should really KIND of expect this to happen occasionally. We're not the deep south, but we aren't Alaska either, dammit.

Jhawk edna million ⋅ January 24, 2014

i saved a spot one time with OD tanked just in case. I went over there today and it was slooooow. So I figured I'd come over here.

Yeah... it's been a pretty mild winter here so I shouldn't be complaining but I sure am ready for summer.

Jhawk January 24, 2014

So we can't edit comments huh? I'm infamous for typos.

edna million Jhawk ⋅ January 24, 2014

I think that is coming. As is deleting comments. I am Queen of Typos too, and also keep replying in the wrong place and leaving myself comments.

ermentrude January 24, 2014

You could always come back over here for grey skies and just-above-freezing rain... X

edna million ermentrude ⋅ January 24, 2014

I'll take that. In fact, we keep mooning over... England's weather. Yes, that sounds insane, I'm sure. Believe it or not, it actually rains more here. We do have hotter summers, but I'm ready to trade for milder winters!

Lyn January 24, 2014

I hate that it has been so cold my nose has been dripping for almost 2 months. We need Spring! I so agree with all this.

Spinster January 24, 2014

Ever since my trip to New Mexico two years ago my nose drips winter, spring, summer, fall. Lets try the climate in San Diego and see if it drips there. :)

noko January 25, 2014

It does seem to get more difficult to cope each winter doesn't it? I have noticed that now that I am 40 lb. lighter this year I am freezing all the time! Just piling on the clothes. And now all the cool girls have those new kind of quilted jackets and I am so out of fashion in my warm red jacket that fits. Sigh.Winter is just a no win situation. It doesn't make me appreciate spring any more than I already do. I bow to the gods of spring. I long for them. And our weather is super mild compared to yours.

Justlovely January 26, 2014

LOL; but this is why we can get "hearty" up North in the winter and nobody cares. You need the layer of fat, and your clothes obscure your shape entirely! I heard it's going to warm up and tease us, then smack down with more cold weather next week.

FallingDog January 29, 2014

God, Beth, I had to make sure that I didn't write this entry. The way I knew that it was you, in fact, who wrote this entry is that eight below zero would be a welcome warm-up for me.

edna million FallingDog ⋅ January 29, 2014

What in god's name are you doing living way up there???!!!?? At least this is kind of unusual for us. Usually I'm whining about it being in the 20s for a week, not in the single digits and the single-digits-below-0.. I am trying to remind myself that it's WAY worse in the upper northern icy-hellish regions. I'll never move another foot north myself.

Deleted user January 30, 2014

Strange enough we had no winter up to now. Very unusual for Belgium. Sooo we'll see and hope we can slipp into spring without any frost. Will that be okay for nature or not? Who knows. :) greetings from Edelweis.

edna million Deleted user ⋅ January 31, 2014

I will keep my fingers crossed that this horribleness doesn't head your way! Spring seems like YEARS away from us right now.

Deleted user edna million ⋅ January 31, 2014

We see that on the news here. Too bad over there. I wish you a wonderful spring soon!! Smiles.

Clanky January 30, 2014

I better not mention actually liking winter then ...

There's a term for that - saying exactly what you say your not going to say, by saying you're not going to say it.

smiles

edna million Clanky ⋅ January 31, 2014

Clanky!!!! Hooray!!

Bedlam Hill Farm February 01, 2014

During these arctic blasts, I get to wear my Harris Tweeds, gray flannel suit, moleskin trousers and Inverness coat. So I do like a short period of frigid weather to get them out for a wearing. You can stay warm and still look good, but I'm amazed how many people are walking around looking homeless. And those knit doofus hats are flattering on no one.

edna million Bedlam Hill Farm ⋅ February 01, 2014

I own approximately 40,260 knit hats and they are all ridiculous and also make your hair crazy. I do like the ear-things that go behind your head- 180s? But I keep losing them. I buy a pair about this time every winter because they go on sale, then I lose them first thing the next winter.

I wouldn't mind pulling out the winter clothes if it didn't drag on forEVER up here. AAGGHHH.

Marg February 01, 2014

Damn there I was about to moan about the constant rain we're getting ............. You know what? You need a house in Britain to come over to in the winter then you can just skip back over there in the summer!

And I suppose now is not the time to tell you we haven't seen a whisper of snow yet is it? Ouch! Thought not ..... :)

Deleted user February 01, 2014

I've lived in places where one's windscreen was frosted, quite heavily at times in the morning, and I HATED that. I found the lack of light really hard to bear -- in fact I'm pretty sure I got SAD a bit. I do sympathise. I wish I could post you some of these 45 degrees.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.