Unheard of... in Everything Else

  • Jan. 18, 2017, 1:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I did something unheard of this weekend. Or rather I DIDN’T do something. I went three and a half days without checking my work email! Yes, you read that right. I did not check my work email once since the time I got home on Friday until I booted up at the office this morning! That never happens! There has never been a day where I have not checked my work email. I go out of town, I check my email and respond all the time. I am home sick, I check my email and respond. I don’t know what the hell got into me, but I just didn’t do it, even when I was bored and had “nothing” to do!

I did deactivate my account on my phone at the beginning of the year. I can’t remember why. Sometimes I do it when I get pissed off at notifications or just get generally pissed off with work. I am so proud of myself I am going to put a gold star on my calendar! My boss even told me when I went on vacation in November that I was not to check my email and made sure others knew that I was on vacation…yet I still checked and responded. And was admonished. Oh well…I am just dedicated. I hate to leave things open!!!

I am thinking of trying the Pomodoro technique because I am getting into that rut where I am having a hard time getting started on projects and staying focused. I am not even going to order the “official” timer because that is how my procrastinating brain functions. “You have to have everything to do it right.” Nope, just need a timer and you can get those online for free, they are on the phones, there is a lot of old time solutions one can use! Although a cute little tomato timer would be awesome.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.