So far, this year. in 2017

  • Jan. 16, 2017, 12:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have to say that I am floating around in a bit of ignorant bliss. In a few days, DONALD TRUMP is going to be our President, and I just can’t allow myself to let that sink in. It’s horrifying.

Life in the self-contained California bubble is… good. We’re getting rained on more than usual, which sounds like it might NOT be a good thing, but it’s actually pulling some parts of CA out of a drought. And rainy days in winter in CA are pretty awesome. I get way more done, and I sleep amazingly well when it rains.

Speaking of raining (and pouring) it’s been a very exciting year so far for work-related items. We are pitching a bunch of really cool clients and our confidence / morale feels really excellent right now. We are in the process of finally creating a brand identity / position / niche for ourselves, and everyone feels really good about where we are netting out. Clients are also responding well to it, which is super important.

I set a LOT of goals for myself this year. I have a lot of personal things I want to work on, and my main motivation for working on myself is that I believe that if I am a better person, my family benefits. More than anything, I want to support and lift up Aaron and the kiddos, but I have to be in a really good headspace before I can fully do that for them, and I’m feeling good about getting there. I’m exercising more, trying to meditate more, working hard on mindfulness and presence when I’m with the kids and trying really hard to bring clarity to my purpose with them. I keep having a conversation with Joaquin that goes something like this:

“It’s my job to help you learn how to make good decisions. Part of that job is to provide you with consequences for your actions - good or bad. I don’t control your body or your choices - YOU do. But I DO control how I react to those choices by giving you consequences. So if you make bad choices, I will give you the consequences of those choices, and those consequences won’t be good. But if you make good choices, you will also have consequences. But they will be GOOD consequences. I can’t make decisions for you. I can’t control what you do. But I can help you learn about choices and consequences. And I can help you learn what will happen to you in the world when you make good and bad choices.”

OH MY GOD. It’s exhausting. But I think it makes sense to him. And it’s SO important to me to help him learn HOW to make choices. I can guide, I can offer advice, etc. etc. but at the end of the day HE makes choices, and I can never really or fully control those choices.

He recently learned how to write his name, and then he started enjoying, like REALLY enjoying, drawing. So I got him a “journal” and he draws in it almost daily, and we work on his name (we’re up to his FULL name now), his sister’s name and his friends’ names now too. I have to say that this is SUCH an amazing / rewarding stage of his development. Partially it’s my own relief that he can do what he’s “supposed” to do before he starts Kindergarten next year (ps he will be one of, if not the very, YOUNGEST kid in his class – his 5th birthday is 8/29 and the cutoff is 9/1!) But the other part of it is his confidence level and self esteem seem to be skyrocketing. It’s truly an awesome thing to witness and be a part of. He loves to draw rainbows, monkeys, bunny rabbits, himself, sewers (!?), caves and trees. His monkeys are pretty awesome. I should post some… soon.

Aaron is doing really well also… he’s filming a small role in a movie at the moment, which is probably why I’ve found some time to write - Aaron’s gone, the kids are asleep, and I’ve had a glass of wine and half a cider! Woo! He’s also doing a lot more work in the area(s) of editing and videography, so he’s becoming a true triple threat. Plus! He got a manager! After years of having agents - only, he’s finally got agents + a manager, and that’s pretty huge for him. We’ll see where it leads, but time are exciting!

Anyway.

I missed one week of “writing” and meditation, but I am working on getting back into it. Because it’s so important to me to see where I’ve been and where I’m going (and likewise my family). Because right now, reflection is everything.

<3


Last updated January 16, 2017


Jeanine January 16, 2017

Aside from the impending doom of the country, it sounds like things are going really well for you guys!

rubix cube Jeanine ⋅ January 16, 2017

Yes, other than the fact that we may lose all of our most important human rights soon, things are going great! Ha!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.