Changing the Vibe in Day by Day

  • Jan. 15, 2017, 10:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good morning! Today, I am clearing out the clutter because my husband is making an awful mess at the other end of the house. We’re remodeling the master bath, the very first room we remodeled when we first moved here, over 30 years ago. The noise and dust are distracting, so I had to turn my attention to what I COULD control.

The new bathroom will be masculine because the guest bath is quite Victorian in decor. I love the wood and tile we chose. We’re almost done with the closet. We installed a pull-down bar so we could store more clothing. Still need to tile the floor and install closet doors, but that’s last. Right now, he’s demolishing the shower.

So I’m working on office clutter and getting the guest room ready for our nephew’s visit next month. The gal who cleans says she can see a difference, but I swear the more I de-clutter, the junkier my house looks. LOL! I think it is mostly because everything is out of place.

It’s either de-clutter or work on taxes. I just can’t get into taxes today.

Thanks for your brochure input. I decided to walk away from it. It was something that got added on to my already full load and since others think they can do it better (wish they’d stepped up to begin with and saved me hours of trouble), I figure they can draft one themselves. Sheesh! Tomorrow, I turn my attention back to preparing for the orientation for the donation drive.

I also need to negotiate the rent with our tenants. I’ve not raised their rent for two years, so an increase is necessary (especially since taxes rose 33% in 2 years!), but I don’t want to hit them too hard. They’re good tenants (a bit messier than I’d like, but no damage, just need to put their piles of clothes, toys, and papers away) and pay the rent on time. I hate this part of owning a rental. I need to keep it business-like, because it IS an investment, but I also need to keep a loving heart for others. Tough to balance the two.

So I’m off to clear the debris in my life. After that, I hope to turn the waterfall in the spa on and just sit and read for a while. I need more zen in my life. Between the non-profit, remodeling, worry for my brother’s health (I think it’s lung cancer), and work, I’ve been pushing stress boundaries for a while now.

I wish you all a happy Sunday!


Shattered January 15, 2017

Wishing you a wonderful Sunday!

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ January 15, 2017

And I wish the same to you! :)

GypsyWynd January 15, 2017

Keeping a good tenant is worth it. I've seen some of the rental houses in this neighborhood, and it's appalling the condition some of them are in. I don't blame the landlords.....it's the tenants who just trash the place.

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ January 15, 2017

Yes, but the house is also an investment, so it has to turn a profit. I think a house in disrepair just attracts lowlife tenants and it just becomes a hamster wheel: the tenant doesn't care because the landlord doesn't care.

QueenSuzu January 17, 2017

My living room is Victorian, my bathroom more of a Parisian shabby chic, so I really am liking your master bath. I do think that way you de-clutter an area, it can look messy or junky until it is all finished.
Hope your brother's health will be treatable, is he a smoker?
Go and have a nice soak in your tub, sounds like you definitely need some zen time!

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ January 17, 2017

Brother was a smoker years ago (as was I). He's been a non-smoker for at least two decades.

Ferret Mom January 22, 2017

I would never want to own rental properties because i wouldn't like dealing with any issues with the tenants.

Keep us posted on your brother.

ConnieK Ferret Mom ⋅ January 22, 2017

A lot of people feel that way. I've had good luck and bad luck with tenants, but that comes with the business. Since I am extremely fair on rent, respond to repair requests quickly, and respect their right to privacy, our tenants stay a long time (last tenants were with me for nearly ten years), so I don't deal with the headache of screening prospective tenants too much.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.