reality check. back-to-normal-programming edition. in crawling into 2014.

  • Jan. 25, 2014, 1:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

WHERE: in my Friday morning bath. Perhaps I should explain my Friday morning bath as it does seem a tad strange... Mon - Thurs rich leaves for work at 7:40am. I'm already calling the kids to get dressed! at this point, throwing cereal at the table, opening the door to let in other people's kids etc... On Friday he leaves for work at 6:20am and I'm usually awake because of his alarm and moving around so I take advantage and get in the bath...

WEARING: the usual! Their may be a bracelet addedwith wooden beads and six colored beads. I have less earrings too. They seem to keep falling out :(

FITNESS UPDATE: we went on a great hike around Glastonbury last Sunday which seemed to bring about a recurrence of the plantar fasciitis. My physio said to expect it but I figured I should maybe take a week off the running, do some stretches and golf ball massage so that I can run this weekend.

IN THE NEWS: Ukraine, riots. Obama, used to smoke marijuana and there's nothing wrong with it. Ukip minister says that all the flooding in the UK is down to the government making gay marriage legal. I have signed a petition to get him booted out of his job. We do not need toxic prejudice such as this within our political theatre.

READING: nothing actively. I did find a copy of Paulo Coelho's The Alchemist in Spanish that I printed off the interwebs when I was first learning Spanish so I've put it in a folder and may give that a go. On the wall in my Spanish class is a very worrying competition. It challenges the students to read six books by June. Really! Six books in six months! I could do that in one month (if they're in English)!

ACTIVITIES TODAY: toy library. Pay my tax bill. I've had to contact the bank that held one of my isa's and close the account but I hadn't touched the account since opening it in 2003 so it was a drawn out procedure due to having to reset passwords and pins via the post. However, with a few days before the tax deadline, I'm on it!

THINKING ABOUT: the funeral. It was very hard and it was nice too.The coffin was wicker with gorgeous flowers on top. K, L and their dad stood up to speak. Dad spoke about her early life and how they met. L (21, male) spoke about his early memories of his mum, and later ones too. K (17, female) had a poem to read: Do Not Stand By My Grave And Weep. My poor sweet babygirl only managed the first line but dad hugged her and read it. The vicar knew her which always makes a difference. He talked about the elegant way she dressed and the elegant way she was. And I recognised her in every word spoken. Afterwards L, K and dad were outside. I gave L a hug which was mildly reciprocated. I then found K, I gave her a hug and she squeezed me back. She said "I'm so glad you came, I was looking for you!" I told her that I was proud of her, she would always be my babygirl and that I love her. It was a good moment. I then found dad who was chatting to friends and acquaintances. He saw me and said "kate!" In his lovely Dundee accent. He reached out and hugged me, tears coming to his eyes. We went to their club for drinks, snacks and vacuous talk. I stayed for a little while and spoke to people I knew and people I didn't. Then found the three family members one baby one to say goodbye. Dad kept squeezing my hand, L gave me another perfunctory hug and K squeezed me, telling me how much it meant to her that I was there, before disappearing into the gardens (probably for a cigarette if fb photos are anything to go by!) Afterwards I walked to the Thames where we used to go to feed the ducks and visit (what we called) the dark, dark woods. It was nice being there again. Walking through my memories. I was home by 7, just in time to hug my own babies.

PLANNING: an overnight trip to Glastonbury, camping in the summer on this green isle. We don't have the money for much else!


Life Is For Living January 25, 2014

Flooding because of the gays? Hmm. That makes PERFECT sense ::eye roll::

That poem always gets me. Every. Time. ::Hugs:: xxx

Deleted user January 25, 2014

I'm so glad you went too. I think with funerals it's nice for the grieving to share the pain with people who knew the deceased a long time ago... it's a comfort I think, to share that relationship that far back. Don't know if this makes sense as I write it, but hope you know what I mean. Friday morning bath sounds perfect. I'm such a bath person too... Have a good weekend! :)

edna million January 25, 2014

I'm glad the funeral was nice (as possible, of course). It really helps when the person doing the service actually knows the person who has passed away. I've been to several that were very generic and it makes it even more depressing.

We've got quite a few loons here who blame the weather, floods, whatever, on whatever the Morality of the Month is. Usually gay rights.

~Twinkle~ January 25, 2014

Much love xxx

Deleted user January 25, 2014

I'd never heard of that poem. It's beautiful.

What a comfort your presence must have been.

Deleted user January 25, 2014

Nothing wrong with a family camping trip, I think you will have a ball :). I think your Friday morning baths sound like bit of time out for yourself

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ January 25, 2014

We're seasoned campers but were planning on camping in Spain this year. It ain't happening!

Deleted user ermentrude ⋅ January 25, 2014

Never camped in Spain, I imagine it would be somewhere between Italy and France. Sigh I miss camping in Europe, you are so lucky

Deleted user January 25, 2014

I think camping in Glastonbury is already something magical and super cool to do! :-)

Such a sad moment, but very beautiful too. I am glad you were able to support them like you wanted to. You're an angel <3

The Tranquil Loon January 25, 2014

sorry you've lost a special person. I like some of Paul's poems

Ainetheon January 25, 2014

Hello dear friend! Thanks for your direction here from OD. Will give this site a go and see how I get on. I've only read this entry of yours so will come back later (I've still to do my tax return!) to read more. Sorry that you have lost a dear friend from your life and I am sure that Dad, K and L found great comfort and support by your presence. Much friendship & hugs, A

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.