Christmas catch up in Life as a Mom of 2 boys.....and a girl!!

  • Jan. 13, 2017, 9:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have been meaning to write an entry for so long but never quite made it back here. The kids keep me so busy and sometimes Miles and Summer don’t nap at the same time and in the evening my husband uses the computer and I don’t feel like writing an entry on the tablet so c’est la vie! After I write this I want to catch up on all my favorites. I miss you guys!! Is that weird? haha. Oh well, I’ve always known I’m weird. And now you guys know too :)

Anyways, on December 13th the kids and I drove to the airport to pick up my parents. It went really well. Last year, Cody and I waited forever for them since their flight was delayed but this year I got there, got the boys some bagels and donuts at Tim Hortons and they had literally just finished eating them when my parents showed up. It was perfect because who knows how long a baby is going to last without being grumpy and me with 3 kids versus a very crowded airport= yikes!!

We had so much fun with my parents in December. We baked Christmas treats with them.....they took the kids to a playcentre with me.....we visited their place several times just to hang out and went to the mall a couple times.....we all went to a new Christmas light display that took about 20 minutes to drive through one town over which was really well done....and of course we spent the Christmas holidays with them. Somehow, Mike, me and the boys all caught the flu one after another right around Christmas. It started with Miles, then Mike got it, then Cody and just when I thought maybe it would skip me, I was wrong and Mike had to take the 28th off work to take care of the kids. But at least we all were well for Christmas and Boxing day which were our main celebration days with family. We all got super spoiled for Christmas as usual. Mike surprised me by giving me enough gift cards to get a new tablet since mine is 3 years old and is dying (battery can go from 50% to nothing in a minute sometimes). I still have to get it sometime. Missed the boxing day sales-ugh.

So, life is back to normal after the holidays. Cody had Dec 23rd-Jan 9th off of school which seemed nice but then I was finding the kids were super loud and wrestling all the time and I was like omg when is he going back to school again? lol. But it’s all good now. Miles is so much easier without Cody around. Except that I spent the last 2 days trying to toilet train him....and then this afternoon I said screw it and quit. I will try again in a few months lol. I sit him on the potty many times during the day and he never goes and then I will be busy with Summer for like one minute and he will hide or discreetly pee/poop his pants. After 2 days of this and him whining that “he doesn’t want to do this anymore” about the potty- I’m done. I will wait another few months and hope he seems more ready then.

Summer turned 9 months today! A couple weeks ago she started pulling up at the couch and at chairs and I was like omg!! My boys didn’t do that til they were like 11 or 12 months!! So that’s fun lol. Give her a month and she’s going to be, what? Walking? Ummmm no thank you!! haha. She’s a fast enough crawler already that chasing her isn’t easy when I’m trying to cook or do something for the boys. So yeah.....busy, tiring life. But everyone is currently healthy and it’s all good. I’m relaxing watching TV and catching up on my faves here tonight while Mike is at hockey with his Mom :)


Sapphire's Gaze January 14, 2017

Great to read your update!! How awesome it is having your parents around, especially at a busy time like Christmas (I love it when my mum helps us out too, though I see her more often as she lives close by).

My eldest child Rowan was early with his physical milestones too, like Summer seems to be. He was full-time walking by his first birthday, which shocked me! You'll probably be in for that too. ;)

It's_all_a_journey Sapphire's Gaze ⋅ January 16, 2017

Yeah it was great having them around. I would be so upset if they stayed in Florida over Christmas. I don't think they'd ever do that luckily.

Yeah for sure, it seems I'm going to have a walker very early this time. This does not thrill me, especially in the dead of winter lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.