Weight loss and crazies in A new beginning

  • Jan. 24, 2014, 12:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Been another rough week so far but almost survived. Jesse worked again last night and will tonight, tomorrow and Saturday so that means even less sleep. Lilly wouldn't go to sleep until 3:30 this morning again and I had to be into work at 8 as usual. I am a walking zombie....actually I'm pretty sure zombies have it more together than I do at this point.

The crazies have been plenty as usual this week. Had a guy call up wanting to schedule some OT for his hand so I naturally asked him what his diagnosis was in which he replied "I got the arthritis and I'm also a grumpy man ok!!" So I was like "Ok I just need to take a moment and get you entered into the computer system first"

"What system is this?? Is this a private system or is this the hospital system?? I will tell you right now I hate the hospital and I am a dentist okay!" Keep in mind this dude was 80 years old. "No it's not the hospital system. We are not part of the hospital" "Ok good!" "So your first name is "Robert" " "No. That's my middle name" "Ok what's your legal name" "I'm not telling you that! You aren't putting that in there! You don't need to know that"

Alrighty then. People are so weird. Just about as bad as the guy that told me he better not see any domestic violence posters on the walls because he will walk out. There are always two sides to the story and men get abused too, he told me. Or the woman who when I answered the phone and said who I was, immediately replies with "Now Kate, don't get offended now but I'm Jewish and as a Jewish woman you can see how I love Dr. S. I just love him and so does my caseworker". I don't know how me saying my name was Kate gave her the impression that I hate the Jews but ok.

I've been meaning to get back to exercising. The physical therapy office at my work lets us use the treadmills and other machines for free so I should really start running again if I'm going to participate in any 5Ks this year. I don't know how but I got myself down to 120 lbs without exercising at all for months. I'm thinking it may be one of my headache meds that doesn't even work that's making me lose and maintain the weight. Is it bad that I'm afraid to stop it in fear of gaining the weight back? haha. Hell, pretty sure I weighed 135 when I got pregnant with Lilly. I was 180 when I had her so that means I've lost 60 lbs. Geez. The last time I weighed this I was 21 I believe. Crazy. Still have some stretch marks and that extra saggy skin under my belly though that I probably wont ever lose unless I do an extreme amount of toning which I don't care to do. Even when I was down to 114 lbs I wasn't comfortable with my body or wearing a bikini so I don't think I ever will be anyway. I just feel like that's just too much to show strangers. Maybe I'm just getting old but whatevs. So sorry you wont get to see my flabby stretch marked body yo.


It's_all_a_journey January 24, 2014

Wow you must have an awesome metabolism. I would have to starve myself to get any lower than 150lbs. I must have some heavy ass bones! Call me lazy but I probably wouldn't exercise if I weighed 120 and could stay there without trying lol

Katie Kizzle It's_all_a_journey ⋅ January 24, 2014

Believe me, I haven't always been like this. I never thought I would ever get below 150 either at one time and then I stopped drinking soda completely and cut my portions down dramatically along with exercise and have been able to maintain ever since. I am also only 5'3..well technically 5'2 3/4 so that is a healthy weight for someone my height. And I have that mentality actually, now that I am this weight I'm like meh to exercising but I notice such a great difference in my mood, energy level and back pain etc. when I do exercise so I'd like to be able to feel that again. I'm just so exhausted all the time it's hard to make myself start up again.

QueenOfBritton January 27, 2014

I can't get myself past 125, so congrats!

I know this might sound completely crazy, but when Salem was Lily's age, Scott was working nights so she would stay up super late because she would sleep all day with her dad. I used to throw whatever movie on that she liked, lock the bedroom door, and pass out while she watched TV. She was an extremely rare case where she would actually wake me up when it was over to start something else, or event to tell me to turn it off when she was ready to go to sleep, but maybe try it?

Katie Kizzle January 27, 2014

I actually do that with her now but with her in the bed with me because she freaks out if she is not up my butt 24/7. lol. It sucks because she gets bored of whatever every like 25 mins and wants something different so I end up changing it a million times. Thankfully we slept in today and she has not napped all day and is still up right now so I'm hoping to go to bed with her at 10 and she sleeps through the night like she did friday.

~*loved&adored*~ January 30, 2014

I can't believe that guy! lol. I get my fair share of crazies too though. I had a guy last night who I was giving medication. I handed the cup to him after telling him which ones I had and what they are for. He said "Eh...doesn't matter. For one...I don't care. And two I beat my head in so much I have a lot of brain damage so it doesn't matter anyways." Oh the public. Glad you came to Prose box!

Katie Kizzle ~*loved&adored*~ ⋅ January 31, 2014

haha that's great. Always enjoy your patient stories.

Overcoming the Darkness February 01, 2014

You'll get there where you'll feel comfortable again Katie. It takes time (and some resistance training) :)

Vee February 02, 2014

Yo, I totally agree you should write a big book of crazy shit. X

Nomolos February 03, 2014

Sleep deprivation and grumpy patients... sounds like a pretty volatile cocktail. Best to stay away from Barney and The Wiggles videos. They may just push you over the edge into full on crazy. ;^)

Katie Kizzle Nomolos ⋅ February 03, 2014

Both of those shows are banned in this household. She has tried to get me to let her watch barney a few times and I use the sweet power of redirection. I cannot go down that road. God only knows what would happen.

Nomolos Katie Kizzle ⋅ February 03, 2014

Careful, she might learn your sweet power and ambush you with some Yo Gabba Gabba. Just sayin'. They're crafty little beggars.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.