My cat has lost her mind in Just in Case

  • Jan. 10, 2017, 9:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

lol I seem to say that a lot. Lu has been sleeping away and suddenly jumped up and she’s off. She has attacked my shoe and sock, chased some invisible critter into the door, and is now harassing her sister, who isn’t taking it patiently. I think they knew I was thinking of heading to bed.
We have gone through some crazy weather the past few days. Friday we shut everything down because of ice. There was some heavy sleet falling, with some snow mixed in. It made for very slick roads. We didn’t have kids that day, but they sent us home about 10 am so we could avoid the dangerous roads (the weather deteriorated as the day progressed, the temps dropped and the roads iced more). I would have happily spent the day in my pjs reading, but Bubba called about and hour after I got home and was going to need a ride home in an hour or so. I headed out about 2, with all sorts of weather warnings going on. Lucy couldn’t come get him because her car “didn’t drive right” on the icy roads. Whatever. I’m not getting into an entry on her. He lives north of here, so I was driving into the worst weather. It was ok going, coming home got a little hairy. A truck in front of me lost it on a bridge. I don’t know if they realized that they were going to fast or if something scared them. They slammed on their brakes and fishtailed. They went almost completely around. I was far enough back, and going slowly. I just stopped until they got it back under control.
Anyway, that was Friday. That night and Saturday night hit the teens. Way too cold for me. Now, though, I’m in shorts. I just want it to pick a season and stick to it.
Everything else is going ok. My cousin is still recovering from her wreck. They have moved her out of ICU, but she’s got a long road ahead of her. She’s still not able to talk, but she is responding to commands. They are hoping to get her into rehab soon.
I’m not a political person at all. That said - I was driving down the road today with the radio on and the news came on. Something was said about “President-elect Trump” and it literally just floored me. I’m still having a hard time wrapping my head around the fact that this man, who was a joke just a couple of years ago, is about to be our president. (I didn’t want it to go the other way either, so it’s just a mess all the way around.) I don’t know. I hope I’m wrong, and that he does some good things for our country. I just don’t know.
I don’t want to end on a weird/bad note like that. I was going to share a picture, but Photobucket is being jerky, so I will share a quick story. Stella just got up after Luna collapsed on her when she wouldn’t chase her. (Luna loves ticking her sister off until she chases her.) Stella brought me her ball to throw. She has a fuzzy toy ball (about the size of a ping pong ball) and she throws it for herself and chases it. When she gets tired of that, she drops it for me to throw and then chases it. Crazy dog-cat!


Shattered January 10, 2017

My oldest cat used to LOVE playing fetch. Found that out when he brought a toy up in bed and I threw it off. Fifteen throws later, he still brought it back.

terriberri January 10, 2017

Can't imagine the weather you have to drive thru! Glad you are safe!

Small Town Girl January 12, 2017

Silly Kitties!

Deleted user January 15, 2017

Caleb, my problem cat loves to play fetch ! Glad you made it safe on the ice . Dang Lucy !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.