Apart from pouring it down the sink in A mish mash of entries

  • Jan. 7, 2017, 4:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

what can I do with an unopened box of red wine that is 5 years out of date?

I found it at the very back of a cupboard this week while having some serious de-clutter time. Normally, I’m good at using things in order, so very little gets past me to its sell-by date, but in this instance I failed miserably.

I’m sure it’s too vinegary now to drink. I could cook a few casseroles, but there’s a limit to how much wine they’ll use. Will it descale taps or kill slugs or anything?

All brainwaves welcome here!


Complicated Disaster January 07, 2017

It'll probably be fine! Drink it!!

The Thirsty Oriental January 07, 2017

It depends on what kind of red wine it is... though most boxed wines aren't meant to sit that long.

Give it a sniff and a taste!

Newzlady January 07, 2017

Couldn't resist a Google search and was surprised:

http://vinepair.com/wine-blog/wine-gone-bad-what-to-do-when-a-wine-turns/

Cobalt January 29, 2017

I say flush the wine in funereal style, complete with dirge playing and a watery eye. Then to properly memorialize the passing of a possibly passing fair vintage, go out and buy another big ass box o' wine, and DRINK this one!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.