Preliminary engraving in Cricut Adventures from a Designer's Perspective

  • Jan. 6, 2017, 1:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Got my engraving tip yesterday and ran it on my previously failed attempt on the brass plate. It only did one letter before randomly stopping and Design Space saying “oops! It didn’t work!” (So helpful. Thanks.) BUT, it engraved just like I was looking for. The cutting isn’t gonna happen so I ordered plates cut to size and going to run another test plate before running on the actual sized ones. I got spares because this whole thing is turning out to be quite unreliable.

I’ve realized I should’ve read some critical reviews of the Cricut and it may have lead me to the Silhouette instead. Apparently the software for that is way better. (I’ve seen screenshots. It’s no Adobe program and looks like it came from 1995, but it’s got tools and capabilities that Design Space sorely lacks.) And considering the only way to use the machine is through its software… I probably would’ve picked the Silhouette. Because that software isn’t internet-based. And the more I think about it, the more stupid it seems to make it internet-based.

I’m hanging a lot on Cricut’s “new version” of Design Space coming out early this year. It better be a major overhaul. Otherwise…giant bummer. I’ll still make my attempts at my ideas and still hope but…I’m not incredibly optimistic.

At least I can make these plates for my mom.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.