Prosebox survey in Site Updates

  • Jan. 6, 2017, 5:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have a huge favor to ask of the community. It should take maybe two minutes, tops. Would you please take this survey:

Prosebox Customer Survey

I know I’ve mentioned implementing a paid account and adding premium features along with no ads. This is the year I plan to get serious about that (though this month is a bit of a bear as far as having time to add new stuff). I’m interested in gauging the interest level, as well as overall opinions on the site. So it would be a tremendous help to me. Thanks!


Lobbastah January 06, 2017

3 or 4 months per month?

simple mind Lobbastah ⋅ January 06, 2017

Derp. Hang on....

simple mind Lobbastah ⋅ January 06, 2017

Thanks, fixed. That's bucks per month.

Lobbastah simple mind ⋅ January 06, 2017

Lol. I figured and answered accordingly.

crafty_tori January 06, 2017

Done!

Shattered January 06, 2017

Done! :)

Nash January 06, 2017

No service too great for our fearless leader!!

Mercurial Muse January 06, 2017

I gave 3 stars in use only because I feel sometimes mark down is a fussy little toddler. But I realize it's not going away.

And I didn't quite know how to answer the premium option. I am a "maybe" not because of the site but just I don't really know if I am in a place where I could spare the $3/4 a month. I know it's not a lot but every little bit counts when saving for a house.

On the one hand, I might in the future once finances have settled. Just wanted to say that since the survey didn't allow for much nuance :)

simple mind Mercurial Muse ⋅ January 06, 2017

Thanks! Well, and I just wanted something quick and easy that would give me a high level view on things, and people could be honest and anonymous in the process. I would never judge anyone on whether or not they could/would go premium. :-)

synapse simple mind ⋅ January 06, 2017

I love markdown it's my favorite feature on the site!

An'yai simple mind ⋅ January 12, 2017

If you do go premium, I'd love an option to gift premium as a neighborly way to say "I appreciate you" to other writers.

Mystery January 06, 2017

Done!

Naiad January 06, 2017

I'd definitely subscribe to an upgraded account. A lot of it depends on features. I'd probably do it just for a calendar feature and reader's choice. (Like, only subs can nominate RC entries, etc.) I miss both of those. :)

Adira January 06, 2017

Done. The only reason I nope'd the premium option is because I got burned by OD's "eternal" bs.

simple mind Adira ⋅ January 06, 2017

Fair enough, though I do plan to run a tight ship when that becomes available. It will be strictly subscription based over a set period of time, where if I fail to meet obligations I can offer refunds based on service not rendered. None of this "eternal" or "lifetime" fuzzy terms.

Johnny Carcinogen Adira ⋅ January 13, 2017

Agreed. The second OD offered a "premium" service, the second it all went downhill.

❤️vee January 06, 2017

done!

FitLadyDi January 06, 2017

Done!

Teflon Superhero January 06, 2017

Done!

Complicated Disaster January 06, 2017

I'd like a lifetime member option like OD....!

Firebabe Complicated Disaster ⋅ January 06, 2017

Unfortunately, the lifetime membership concept is an extremely poor business plan. I'm guessing Bruce implemented it on OD because he was trying to either (A) generate more interest in the site, or (B) trying to make a lot of cash quick. From a sustainable business standpoint, the only way a lifetime membership would even be a viable option for Simple Mind to implement, is if he charged roughly $5,000 for it. :)

Complicated Disaster Firebabe ⋅ January 06, 2017

It's good for the customer though. Also, it might get some money out of people like me who would rather have ads than pay a subscription.

Firebabe Complicated Disaster ⋅ January 06, 2017

The problem is in generating money to cover ON-GOING costs of running a site of this nature. You only pay $100 for a "lifetime" membership and your contribution towards these costs is exhausted within the next couple of years. Then you have a huge bucket of people who are getting additional features (which cost money to build, implement, and maintain) for free, but since they have a lifetime membership, you can no longer tap them for money towards on-going costs.

This was cited numerous times as one of the failure points for OD (a couple of times by Bruce himself.) Yeah, it might be of short-term value to the individual customer, but if that business strategy ends up causing the site to have to close, then it's a loss for everyone. Also, speaking as a twenty-year business strategist, the only way for "lifetime" membership plans to work is if the business has other ways of generating money from their clients. Overall it's just a terrible strategy that sounds cool the first time you hear it.

simple mind Firebabe ⋅ January 07, 2017

Spot on. It was a desperation tactic back in the OD days to quickly raise a lot of short-term revenue. I've never seen a "lifetime" option anywhere outside of OD, and would be curious to see an actual successful business example of such a thing.

Complicated Disaster simple mind ⋅ January 07, 2017

I'll stick with the ads then thanks :-)

B simple mind ⋅ January 13, 2017

American Mensa offers a lifetime membership option. Rates are based on your age - the younger you are the more you pay. I have no idea how many people go with that option but my assumption is: not many.

simple mind B ⋅ January 13, 2017

Interesting example!

Nash Firebabe ⋅ January 06, 2017

Now, why would I want to do that when I could buy a set of toy titanium tops for $225 bucks?

www.foreverspin.com

Firebabe Nash ⋅ January 06, 2017

I'm kind of stunned that this is A Thing. There must be a lot of people out there who love their spinning tops. :)

Domino January 06, 2017

I'm not spending $3 or $4 a month if it comes, do I need to back up my diaries? x

love.me.for.me Domino ⋅ January 06, 2017

I'm thinking it will be an option. Like an upgrade for those that want it (with little bonuse things) and still free for everyone else.

simple mind Domino ⋅ January 06, 2017

Don't worry, I would never take any content hostage as a bargaining ploy. I'd like to add cool premium stuff, but not at the cost of what is already freely available.

Domino simple mind ⋅ January 06, 2017

Thanks, I didn't think you would x

Domino January 06, 2017

ps. sorry sound like a grumpy cow, I do appreciate you Simplemind but not in a position to pay.

NeonLady January 06, 2017

Done

Rerrin January 06, 2017

I think it would depend on the premium options as to whether or not I would pay. If it were something like ensuring my diary would be backed up, then definitely, but otherwise I don't use it enough to bother. I visit every day to read, but I only sometimes note and occasionally update. I also like the idea of paying a yearly subscription rather than monthly, but offering both options!

blackpropaganda January 06, 2017

PB suits me as it is since it would be difficult for me to pay without someone knowing I had PB, and I like the anonymity.

Deleted user January 06, 2017

$1 a month, yes. Maybe $1.99 tops, if it included features like a search and random.

Deleted user January 06, 2017

I would most definitely pay.

I'd like to see more fonts and an easier way to post photos. Also, more "buttons" for formatting rather than having to use HTML codes. And WYSIWYG.

hot-lips January 06, 2017

Done. I don't think I'd pay for a premium site as I'm happy with the current version as it is. Plus, I don't mind ads as long as they don't pop up and block the screen - those kind annoy me.

Deleted user January 06, 2017

thumbs up!

Cat Mommy January 06, 2017

Done!

Laurie January 06, 2017

I realized the other day, after seeing the sidebar feature of my entry from the previous year.. I've been on PB for a few years, and maybe.. once? or twice? in that whole time do I remember it being "down". I don't even remember it actually being down, just a mention that it had been. That kind of reliability is pretty phenomenal. My bank website goes down more often than that...lol. I'm super happy here and I'd happily pay :-)

simple mind Laurie ⋅ January 07, 2017

I worked (briefly) at a company that makes credit union software. I was somewhat horrified by some of the bank code I encountered during that time.

SarahBeth January 06, 2017

Done! Echoing others that I love the site as it is, the functionality is great and it's stable which is the biggest thing.

I may or may not pay for the premium; it'd really depend on what the features were that it came with. :)

kmh. SarahBeth ⋅ January 06, 2017

Yep, this sums up my thoughts too :)
Also, survey done!

Unexpected Error January 06, 2017

Am I the only one that has a scrolling issue with the recent site update? When I scroll on my laptop, the movement is extremely sensitive so a small two-finger up-swipe on the mousepad results in me immediately being at the bottom of the page. Only happens on this site.

simple mind Unexpected Error ⋅ January 06, 2017

Odd, haven't heard of this before.

Leanne 🌈 January 06, 2017

Rated PB all good.

invisible ink January 06, 2017

It's a great site but I don't typically get roped into monthly auto fees... and I don't mind the ads....

love.me.for.me January 06, 2017

Done. I would pay for extras. Though the free site runs WAY better than OD+ ever ran lol. I wouldn't want to have to pay monthly though.. if it could be set up as paying for 6 months or a year at once also that would be great!

simple mind love.me.for.me ⋅ January 07, 2017

Oh yeah, definitely. And paying in larger installments creates fewer transaction fees, so I could offer a better deal as well. :)

Firebabe January 06, 2017

Done. I think as long as there are options, then most people will be content because they'll have a choice. As long as there's good communication around what you can get, and for how much, then there shouldn't be a lot of issues with implementing a paid service.

Jeanine January 06, 2017

Done!

Deleted user January 06, 2017

Done!

Skikkles911 January 06, 2017

You'd have to do a whole lot more with the site to get people to pay monthly, (groups/circles, more customization settings, featured entry of the day, etc) . Just an honest opinion.

Pennyworth's Ghost January 06, 2017

How much more is it for the Platinum Elite Club membership?

Deleted user January 06, 2017

Done

Deleted user January 06, 2017

I don't mind premium option, but it also depends on what you offer. I am kinda confused by what you are asking. Like do you want opinion about what features we would like or ....yeah, just confused by it.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ January 07, 2017

No, I wasn't looking for specifics, even though that's what this comment thread turned into somewhat. I just wanted to get a very general idea of how many people are active and seeing the site updates, and how open people are in general to a premium option. This has helped.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ January 07, 2017

Oh okay kewl.

lessoff January 06, 2017

done.

I was on OD from 1999 on, I paid for that lifetime membership. LOL I think I got my money's worth.

anyway I think you are doing a better job that bruce ever did. I see you comment on things and tell us what is up. so therefore I like you and ill stick around. im sure if you offered some type of paid sub I would do it.

keep up the good work.

simple mind lessoff ⋅ January 07, 2017

Thanks!

UncertainTragedy January 06, 2017

Done :D
And I would love to see a paid service!

nightborn January 06, 2017

Took it. I would absolutely be willing to pay for premium features.

janeanger January 06, 2017

You can't make me!

J/K, I'm going to do it right now lest you punish us a la Zeus.

mcbee January 06, 2017

I would rather pay a one-time fee than a monthly fee of just a few dollars. I just don't want to have to keep up with the monthly accounting of such a small amount. I know that many people were burned by OD "lifetime option", but maybe yearly? Like for words with friends, I paid a $9.95 one time fee for no ads. Something like that.

Neogy Titwhistle January 06, 2017

After the OD debacle I realized that websites are ephemeral at best. I'm still confused as to why site owners rather than content providers receive compensation over and above expenses.

Kate Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ January 06, 2017

Because not everyone is a good content-provider. If you look at sites that pay for content, it's vetted, edited and culled. In this case, the site owner is providing a place for any misspelled, misguided and poorly written stream of consciousness BS someone wants to publish. And he's been doing it for a long time for free. If you are a good content provider, someone will pay you to write what they want written, when and how.

simple mind Kate ⋅ January 07, 2017

Yes, THIS.

Kate simple mind ⋅ January 07, 2017

Do we have to agree on EVERYTHING? ;)

Deleted user Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ January 07, 2017

I am confused by your confusion. Do you believe that he should spend all his time creating this site for free, simply as a hobby, for years and years, for thousands like us to benefit from? I'm not wanting to be snarky at all...I'm genuinely curious.

Neogy Titwhistle Deleted user ⋅ January 07, 2017

Wikipedia has a model that works, donations.

mcbee January 06, 2017

PS,,,my biggest "want" is a way to cut and paste photos directly into entries, as opposed to having to go to a secondary site first (especially one that is rarely working right!) and then into PB. Thanks for all you do!

Timmy™ January 06, 2017

I love you.

simple mind Timmy™ ⋅ January 07, 2017

I love you too.

raynedrop January 07, 2017

I really appreciate that you want our feedback :)
Thank you so much for all the work that you put into this site. It is a keepsake for so many.

If it weren't for ProseBox being around, I probably wouldn't have been motivated to document not only my pregnancy, but [so far] my little girls entire life. Considering how difficult it was, it will likely be the only time I get to do that. So I am forever grateful :)

raeven January 07, 2017

I would gladly pay. I did on OD for years .. and you have allowed so many of us OD people to stay connected. Thank you.

littlefallsmets January 07, 2017

Done and done.

butterfly14 January 07, 2017

When will we be able to search by interest???

Saby butterfly14 ⋅ January 07, 2017

I forgot about that feature, that's a good one! :-)

progress January 07, 2017

completes

Deleted user January 07, 2017

Completed

ViscousNightshade January 07, 2017

Done! Does anyone remember the way you could choose interests on OD? I liked those; it was a nice way to find other people to read.

cricket_factor January 07, 2017

Done! And I would consider a paid subscription. I paid at OD for a "lifetime" subscription.

GypsyWynd January 08, 2017

Took the survey.
I would consider a yearly subscription. I was on OD from 1999 till it folded, and I was thrilled (and relieved) to find PB (along with so many OD refugees). Thanks for this site.
PS: I really like the "On This Day" feature.

Blue Echo January 08, 2017

On OD, I paid for a subscription for a while mostly because the ads there were SO annoying. They let in all the awful ads that flashed, made noise, popped up on scrollover, or just made the page fail to load. The ads here are so unobtrusive that I don't find them annoying at all. Is it wrong that I wouldn't subscribe to a paid version because you made the free version too good?

That said, it would ultimately depend on what sort of features were available on the paid version.

Deleted user January 08, 2017

Done and I would subscribe if the subscription fee is as you indicated. I love PB ! Thanks for all you do .

nthaniel January 08, 2017

Filled out, kind sir!

Deleted user January 09, 2017

Done. I like that the site is free and simple to use. Not fussed about having no ads/paying for premiums as long as there was a free service running just as it is now.

Anna C. Waldrop January 09, 2017

Done! Sorry for being late at the party!

=bernard= January 09, 2017

Done, the one thing I wouldn't want is for this site to become another OD. I come here and appreciate using this site because the way this site has been set up makes sense and is easy to use.

TruNorth January 10, 2017

I would like an easier way to post pictures. I would pay an annual subscription (once a year only). I don't like monthly fees.

Jane Says January 10, 2017

Good lord, man, will you just TAKE MY FUCKING MONEY ALREADY

Deleted user January 12, 2017

I think this is a great site and quite easy to use. I would definitely pay a fee for no ads, but would also like a way to easily upload photos and videos, like a paste feature. I can do this with my paid Penzu account. I guess I would like a monthly fee option.

scout_finch January 12, 2017

Hey! Thanks so much for offering Prosebox and allllll of the work that goes into maintaining it. As an OD-er since 2007 and Prosebox user since that went bust, it's been a really special and important piece of my life for 10 years. In general, the navigation is improving. I LOVE the "this day in history" feature you've added. So much. It's one of my absolute favorite features. I think the navigation to my main profile, recent entries, books, etc. could be simpler (maybe default them all at sign-in?) Overall I'm thrilled with this site and the level of service you provide. A big THANK YOU for everything!

simple mind scout_finch ⋅ January 13, 2017

You're welcome, and thanks for sharing this! :)

Johnny Carcinogen January 13, 2017

And thus the OpenDiarification of Prosebox begins.

Imagine my surprise.

Deleted user January 14, 2017

Done! :)

KittyGotClawz January 17, 2017

Done.

I would become a paid member just for the "No Ads".
I wish PB had an app. I think I say that 6 million times a day. I would write more frequently then. I home school and I don't get a lot of free time.
Free time for me is stolen moments. I can click open an app for a few minutes.
But, enough of my whining. The site is always fantastic..I'm just one of those spoiled App addicts who has an app for everything! ;)

Etoile Filante January 17, 2017

Done! Finally... I've been crap at keeping up lately. Sorry xXx

twentytwenty February 20, 2017

Done :)

Deleted user March 01, 2017

Done

Deleted user March 25, 2017

Did your survey.

My answers say: I love your site, it's awesome in every way, but I won't pay for anything "Premium". Open Diary tried getting people to buy a premium service, and I'm pretty sure that a lot of us know how that went....

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ March 26, 2017

Well, yes, but I would argue that Open Diary didn't go downhill because of the premium service. It just would have died a much quicker death without the additional financing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.