Facing Fears in Grandma and me

  • Jan. 22, 2014, 8:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo dcavles_zps1dbe1fab.jpg Gma Fri 1-22-1982

Cloudy and rain and ice again. No school. Butch brought Teri and Gary down here. Had another big card game afternoon.

Gma Mon 1-22-1990

  1. A spring like day with a high of 53. We walked in the lane at the Burris place to see Charles calves. Some dandies. Took a nice long ride over to Lake Pako near Princeton. Made a nice afternoon.

Gma Wed 1-22-1992

About 40 and drizzly. charles called to see if we were getting the cows fed alright. We can make it good until a cold blast rolls in. A long dreary day and missly all day. Gina called, she had made the high honor roll.

 photo dhagercook_zps76a2873f.jpg Me Wed 1-22-2014

I got my second monitor at work today. Its fantastic! I love it! At first the iT guy said I wouldn't be able to have one screen at one resolution and the second on another but once he got into set up he saw that he could. I could see everything I needed to write a letter. I was so happy I almost started crying. I think the troubles had been weighing on my mind and it was a relief to know that I was going to be able to see to do my job.

One of the podcasts I listen too is always encouraging people to face their fears. Something along the lines that you gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. I think thats true but I conquered my biggest fear, that I needed a wall of fat between me and other people and the fear that I couldnt get through llife without turning to food for comfort. The only fear I could think to face is the fear of dating which I’m still not ready for and if I think about it too much sends me running for a pizza! Today Angie put me on the road to curing a fear, I dont know if you would call it a fear, but I dont like and am uncomfortable with putting my face under water. She is wanting me to learn how to breathe more efficiently so I can tackle the longer distances I’m going to need to do the half marathon. Apparantly one of the best ways to learn this is under water where you have no choice not to hold your breath. I resisted quite a bit but once I started it wasnt too horrible and I doubled the amount of time I could stay under water in only 30 minutes.

Good Things I did for me

Worked out with Angie and went way outside my comfort zone.

Walked/Ran 3 miles. Mostly walked as I’m supposed to not run on Wed and Thur.

Zumba

Stayed in calorie range

 photo dskunk_zpsf4b7d301.jpg


FishTacoLover January 23, 2014

It is 7F here right now and with the windchill, 0F. Very cold, but the snow is beautiful!

edna million January 24, 2014

Fears are such weird and unexpected things. I've never liked putting my face under water either. I remember having to take swimming lessons when I was a very small child, and I couldn't pass the first ones because I wouldn't put my face under water. When I was older I managed to do it even though I didn't like it... but I STILL don't like it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.