One reason I don't like Facebook in A mish mash of entries

  • Jan. 2, 2017, 11:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

“don’t give your dog’s any food bought in B&M i.e beef jerky,dog treats etc made in China. Vet has had to put 2 dogs down in last 2 weeks as they are injected with something that destroys their kidneys! vet has put a report in but may take time to have stuff removed from shelves. tell everyone you know with a dog.”

Forget the crappy grammar - one single Google search showed this had been responded to and denied by B&M a year ago which rather makes a nonsense of “Vet has had to put 2 dogs down in last 2 weeks” - unless of course there has been a quantum leap forward in the time fabric of our world and we somehow lost 2016. Which might actually be a damn good idea!

There are plenty of similar scare stories about pet treats on the internet, but I have yet to find a single solitary one that names a credible source.

Why oh why do people repost this sort of nonsense without checking if it’s true first?

“I thought I’d share it in case it helps somebody.” “It might be true.” “Better safe than sorry.”

Really?

I’d love to see more reasons in the notes :)


Newzlady January 04, 2017

That infuriates me, too. I agree with Infinite Ocean on the reasoning.

Fred January 05, 2017

People post it for the same reasons that they believe conspiracy theories. They lack critical thinking skills. Makes me sad for the continuation of the human race.

Cobalt January 23, 2017

There were some problems along the same lines in the states concerning Chinese manufactured dog food. I seem to recall the information from the broadcast television news a year or two ago. The dog food caused liver damage and led to a number of dogs' deaths in several states. The food was distributed mostly by dollar stores. With that in mind, I don't ever regret buying name brand food for the gang of fur in my house and completely avoiding consumables (human and pet) from China. I don't really trust their safety standards, especially after the massive amounts of toxic Chinese drywall that had to be removed after people here rebuilt following Katrina,.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.