Same Auld Lang Syne in General

  • Jan. 1, 2017, 10:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“Reliving in our eloquence another Auld Lang Syne.”

I never really caught that line before. It’s not like it hasn’t been 36 years since I first heard that song, driving to the Auburn mall with my high school physics partner, John in my dad’s VW Bug.

It has been a messy winter here so far. Snow, then warming then freezing. Then raining, then freezing again. They can’t put down enough salt and sand to make a difference. In my neighborhood the streets look like skating rinks.

To a degree I am glad the holidays are over. It’s possible some of the made up holidays are still going on, Kwanzaa and Festivus come to mind.

I run all season radials year round, but have managed to get stuck three times in Topsham. They don’t plow, and they don’t treat the roads and my daughter lives there. I can buy a bigger vehicle, or get snow tires. But this winter is a statistical outlier so neither makes sense. Just ride it out.

My gym got sold last fall. I keep saying I am going to go check it out. Alarm is already set. I also keep telling myself I am going to go heavy again on the weights. It has been a few years, but even with all the joint pain that comes with lifting heavy, the relief - sense of oneness with yourself when you move heavy metal is worth it. The challenge will be in doing it smart. I’m not 25. I’m not even 35 anymore. I simply can’t go lift like I were. That doesn’t mean I can’t go lift.

In front of me is the VA folder. I know I have money left, but the last couple of months I have been left on hold every time I call the VA to inquire. I don’t want to start into another degree program only to find myself out of money. Not doing the Ph.D route. Won’t rule it out, but I need to know how much gas is left in the tank. Once I know what is left, it might be time to get an advisor.

Two classes a month turns into almost a grand in housing allotment. That is almost four hours of flight time a month. My GI Bill expires in 2020.

Problem is, the Cirrus is in New Jersey having inspections done, and might end up spending the winter in Florida.

My Christmas gift to myself was going to be the two hour orientation flight in the SR22.

A lot of shit on the to do list. Because if you wait for shit to come to you, you will wait a long time.

My High School 37th year reunion is coming up in June. My buds and I have an evil plans to get some young women to come along as our dates. Glenn is working some of Gary’s nieces, none of whom our classmates would know because they are in their 30s. Gary is not pleased, but fatalistic. He is used to friends hitting on his million or so hot nieces.

Glenn and I, and to a lesser extent Scott find the idea hilarious.

Happy New Years.

Just because she’s sexy! (Not one of Gary’s nieces!)

 photo Christina Carter 1 1 17.jpg

Photobucket


Last updated January 01, 2017


woman in the moon January 02, 2017

I'm a believer in all season radials and front wheel drive. They get me where I want to go unless it's really bad and then I take the ice cream truck.
Cirrus SR22 was what the Prez of Iowa State University got in trouble in. Not the plane itself but his use of it. Of course.

gattaca January 02, 2017

I'm more than halfway through my masters; not that I will ever use it - I retire in 2 years. But the course work keeps my brain sharp and, for university staff, tuition is free.
You don't get paid a lot as university staff, so I'll take the free tuition benefit.

Deleted user January 13, 2017

A PHD ! That would be great ! And if you want to fly again you should do whatever it takes to get it done. Life won't wait for you ... that reunion might be fun !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.