Hiding from friend lists in Site Updates

  • Jan. 22, 2014, 4:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It's been suggested to me that the Friend Of lists can be a potential source of drama. And so, in the spirit of drama reduction, I've added a setting "Hide me from friend lists". If you check this box, you'll never show up on the list. So, you know, if someone accuses you of "unfriending" (social buzzword) them because you are no longer showing up in their "Friend of" listing, now you have plausible deniability. :)

There's also a disclaimer about this on the Friend Of listing.


Deleted user January 22, 2014

CHECK

Cat Mommy January 22, 2014

Very nice. Appreciated. :)

Deleted user January 22, 2014

Oh, you mean, 'I'm not responsible for your hate mail', that kind of disclaimer? lol

Thanks for this :)

Nash January 22, 2014

I am really not sure if this is a good idea, have you thought this through?

simple mind Nash ⋅ January 22, 2014

No, not really.

Nash simple mind ⋅ January 22, 2014

You are a good man sir, and then some, my respect.

Goddess Of Eden Nash ⋅ January 24, 2014

I like how it is an OPTION. Thanks, simple mind.

Silverstar46 January 22, 2014

okay so I've always wondered why someone would make you a friend which means that you can see FO entries... but NOT want you to KNOW that you can see those entries..

Am I really the only one confused by that concept? SOMEONE EXPLAIN THIS TO MEEE! lol..

OneSassyLadyNKY Silverstar46 ⋅ January 23, 2014

I'm just as confused ... lol

Deleted user January 22, 2014

Woot!

Deleted user January 23, 2014

Good to know.

I hope your children get better soon.

🌈 JustWillow 🦄 January 24, 2014

This is all cool and stuff, but... umm... why can't I reply to comments from my Comments Inbox anymore? Couldn't I do that before? I've just recently noticed that I get a comment notification, click it to go to my inbox, read the comment, and then have to go to the entry itself and scroll all the way down, find the comment, and then reply to it. It's... um... icky.

simple mind 🌈 JustWillow 🦄 ⋅ January 24, 2014

No, I've never implemented the ability to reply from the Comments Inbox. However, if you click on the title link (directly above the comment), it takes you directly to the comment on the entry without the need to scroll to find it.

🌈 JustWillow 🦄 simple mind ⋅ January 24, 2014

Oh well, would you look at that... works just like you said lol

Thanks for clearing up my confusion <3

Deleted user January 24, 2014

this makes no sense at all. I can see the option of hiding my whole list of friends from the public. but if someone's on your friends list, they/I should show up to them. this just confuses things, at the request of those who have been having note wars or something? I don't get it. (not that I would use this feature or that my faves would - but all the same I'm adding my voice to the growing list of those who are pointing out that this wasn't well thought out).

woman in the moon January 24, 2014

What's the point of a 'friends of' list?

SweetMelissa January 25, 2014

ha ha ha ha...drama. Geez.

The more things change January 26, 2014

Is there an option in the works to transfer entries to different books? I'm sure I'm not the only one whose saved an entry only to notice I did so in the wrong book. Or what about backdating entries? I'd like to see that also.

simple mind The more things change ⋅ January 26, 2014

You can edit an existing entry and change what book it's in. Just change the book in the drop-down and save.

The more things change simple mind ⋅ January 26, 2014

Thank you!

Rivercity January 27, 2014

It sounds as if some people will appreciate this! Thank you for all you do!

Jane Says January 27, 2014

It's all you now, you secksi bitch! Put on some pants and spruce up your wig, company's coming!

Wicked Nights January 27, 2014

Well here we go... the final swan song for OD. I hope your servers are ready for the influx of new users. Wonder who will be the first here to write an obituary page for it? Hoops? Ensor? You?
And be ready for a lot more thank yous for creating Prosebox. I'll start it off.. Thank you Simple Mind.

Camdengirl January 27, 2014

I headed over here in order to thank you too!
The wonderful thing is how responsive you've been to new suggestions and cool additional tweaks to make the whole experience better... Now to raise a thorny issue: Just when are you going to start charging? Over the years I donated a few hundred dollars to OpenDiary and I've always regarded it as good value for money (well until the servers continually fell over). I know you don't want to whilst you're still reveling in the shiny new excitement of it, but the fact is unless you are making money, there's no incentive for you to continue devoting your personal time and effort - and I want it to continue!!! How about a Paypal donation link?

Overachiever January 27, 2014

Something I liked about Google+ was the ability to omit groups of people from my own listing of friends. Just a thought.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.