I miss OD in A mish mash of entries

  • Jan. 1, 2017, 2:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Somehow I never managed to feel at home here in the same way that I did in OD. I stopped making entries completely for 18 months or so and investigated Facebook properly (still don’t like it), keeping a diary just on my computer and even making/receiving regular phone calls to a friend. The calls were mostly based on our half-hearted attempts to lose some weight but we covered everything else going on in our lives as well.

None of these things were/are good enough. With OD, you knew that if someone read your entry it was because they were interested in what you had to say. There was a conscious choice to read somebody. Facebook is faceless and full of inane posts and worse pictures. A diary on my computer generated no feedback or support and I found myself sanitising what I wrote (don’t ask me why, I just did). Phone calls to my friend were the best and she’s the most non-judgemental person I know, but she KNOWS me and that means I do tend to filter what I say to her.

So I’m going to try and give Prosebox a proper chance this time and stop wishing for what is gone. I’ve forgotten what all the features are, so roll on the plain text for now!

If anybody does read this, THANK YOU for keeping me in your contacts and I hope you have the most amazing year ever in 2017.


Last updated January 05, 2017


Deleted user January 01, 2017

I miss Open Diary too but have moved on. Prosebox is now home. Welcome!

Amaryllis January 01, 2017

I've found that I actually enjoy Prosebox more than OD. It is so much easier to find interesting diarists to follow (larger sample size on front page) and the format is really clean and appealing compared to OD's ads and clutter. I hope you enjoy it more the second time around! Welcome back!

history of love January 01, 2017

I don't know you but hello :) I agree with one of the above commenters, personally I like PB more than I did OD but I do miss the random button and stuff which made it easier to find people.

Fred January 01, 2017

How nice that you are back!

Newzlady January 04, 2017

I miss it, too, but I'm becoming more comfortable here. Glad you're back!

AlexYourAlterEgo January 04, 2017

PB isn't too bad for me now. I'm still far from satisfied with it, but have no reason anymore to move. I just wish it had a bit of a bigger audience. I am an egomaniac and crave attention at all times. My friends here are lovely. I just want to make more, more, MORE!

Marg January 08, 2017

I sort of had a scratchy start to PB as well but have now got back into the swing of things although only write 2-3 entries a month. I do love the people on here though :)

Great to see you writing again! Hope you keep it up!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.