XMAS 2016 in 2014

  • Dec. 30, 2016, 6:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We had a lovely, quiet Christmas this year. A while ago my brother bought me a gift that contained a jar of gingerbread ingredients. So we made that into a giant gingerbread man and then decorated him. This year we had to be selective about what decorations we used because Chook can only eat certain types of sweets with her braces. When she was younger we use to spend Christmas eve baking gingerbread men or building a gingerbread house for Santa to eat. It’s now almost new years and we’re still trying to eat that damn giant gingerbread man.
 photo Gingerbread_zps9qooldrp.jpg

We all woke up around 8am on Christmas morning, made coffee and sat down to open presents. Each year we all write a list of what we’d like for Christmas and then put it on the fridge. That way everyone is guaranteed to receive at least one present they really wanted. We all have such individual interests that it’s hard to know what to get one another sometimes.

This year Chook got a Fossil watch she’s been wanting since forever. Her favorite perfume, which is also my favorite perfume that she’s claimed as hers. Plenty of socks & undies. A hair straightening brush. Some chocolates and a new mug. My brother got her a unicorn cushion and a few other things that I can’t remember just now.
I bought my brother a 16 midi mixing board, a graphics tablet and some guitar strings. I know nothing about music or drawing so having him make a wish list was really helpful. He’s now struggling to learn how to use the mixing board and graphics tablet which is a bit funny to watch. I also got him some shortbread and a new mug.
My brother really spoilt me this year. He bought me all Teressa Cutter’s cook books & chocolate mixes. Jamie Oliver herb board, mortar & pestle. And a new fitbit. My daughter got me a new Kate Hill handbag & wallet. She also gifted me a hand made dragon that she’d spent the year making in art class.
 photo Dragon_zpsflku6nde.jpg

I called my Mum and we all spoke to her on speakerphone. My uncle Kevin is living with her at the moment but he’s working FIFO (Fly In, Fly Out) so he’s only at her house when he’s home from work. He was out playing golf when we called so Mum was in a good mood about having some time to herself. She really enjoyed talking to Chook and hearing about her netball and how she’s gotten her learners drivers licence. My brother was pleasant but wasn’t exactly thrilled about having to speak with her. She was so delightful to speak with though. It’s times like that which make me want to go spend time with her. I wish she could be consistently in a good place mentally.
My sister phoned my brother and they had a good chat for a while. She then told my brother to pass on her good wishes to Chook & I. This annoys me for a couple of reasons. My brother & I share a house, she could have asked to speak to me knowing I was in the next room. Or she could have called me and said those things to me herself. I find her “good wishes” fake and very passive aggressive. My brother told me that he asked her when she was going to stop being stubborn and give me a call. Apparently her response was a “yeah one of these days…” with little to no enthusiasm.

We had a great Christmas lunch of roast rolled turkey with cranberry stuffing and roast vegetables. Then we spent the rest of the afternoon/evening watching tv or playing with our new toys. It was a lot of fun :)


Last updated December 30, 2016


Deleted user January 01, 2017

Happy New Year! 🎉

Swanny Deleted user ⋅ January 01, 2017

Thank you Sally. Happy New Year to you & the family xoxo

Deleted user January 18, 2017

Your holiday sounds amazibg. I love Jaimie Oliver , and you'll have to post how you like the Fitbit. I'm thinking about getting one.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.