Come and gone in At the foot of the hill

  • Dec. 29, 2016, 9:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Another Christmas in the history book. We had a nice couple of days with our son and his family. We started it by going to church at 5:00 PM on Christmas Eve. Then to their house for dinner… Beautiful steaks done on the grill. We could have sat on the deck by the fire pit, it was that nice.
Sunday (Christmas Day) we went back over for a special breakfast. Since the boys are adults now, they weren’t in such a big rush to open gifts and we were able to enjoy sitting around and talking. Ben told me about his new girl friend. Davis said his girl friend wasn’t his girl friend anymore…no details, though. Mike said that the paper (legal) work had been finished and that his song had been sent to Tim McGraw and Faith Hill…or at least their “people”. The song is perfect for a duet and they are putting together a tour. ~fingers crossed~
After we opened presents, Bob and I came home and played with our new things. I’m finally getting comfortable with my new lap top. I also got a new vacuum cleaner so I can clean lint out of the vents (and hopefully, keep our air cleaner and our allergies to a minimum).
My daughter Rhonda sent me a jigsaw puzzle…It is an autumn scene from Rocky Mountain National Park. When she and her husband were here in October, we spent a day and a half up there looking at this very scene…and (I’m pretty sure) she bought that puzzle at the gift shop there in the Park. Fun surprise for her mom.
We went back to Mike & Jeri’s late in the afternoon (after the horrible wind died down a little) for wine and visiting and later a perfect Christmas dinner. The Amana ham was a gift from Jeri’s sister. We watched our Broncos get beat up on and then played a few games of “Apples to Apples”.
Came home and slept like a baby.
Yesterday I took down the few decorations that I had out and got them all packed away in their red storage tub. Will have to wait until one of those tall boys has time to come by and put the tubs back on the top shelf in our storage closet.
And then it will be New Years! We will join some of our Fabulous Friends to celebrate. Will probably stay up clear till midnight....


MageB December 29, 2016

What fun it all sounds. Yes, I will skip midnight too. The Christmas decorations will stay up here till the end of christmas...that's the 5th I think. I so enjoy them. Happy new year to you both.

crystal butterfly December 29, 2016

Sounds like fun for all.

cardslinger December 29, 2016

Sounds lovely. Enjoy New Year's!

Slowpoke January 11, 2017

Glad you had a nice New Years. Mine was just like any other night--Went to sleep at 4am and woke up at 9am. I have always believed that as you got older you slept more. I'm still waiting .... All is well. D.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.