Praying for Time in General

  • Dec. 26, 2016, 10:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Praying For Time

  • Apologies to all. This is going to get edited about six hundred more times as memories flood back in.

I was in flight school in ‘90. You couldn’t turn on your radio in the summer of ‘90 in Florida without hearing something from “Listen Without Prejudice I.” Flight school students obsessed over the girls in the video for “Freedom 90.” I was married at the time and somehow felt left out of the sex-fest that was the life of the average flight school student. I did have a few flirtations with Hooter’s girls, but I never let that get out of hand.

To do it all over again… Shut up Duke. It doesn’t work that way. You make decisions and you live with them.

For me the holidays are over. I think there may be one more trip to “The Tilted Kilt” with the boys before New Years. On new Years I hunker down. No good reason for me to be on the road.

Surprisingly low key Christmas. Zero stress. Everyone who was getting a gift got gift cards. Christmas morning was fun because my Nephew’s son was so excited about the whole opening gifts thing. Until he ran out of steam. And didn’t want to open gifts anymore.

I don’t know what Christmas is becoming. When a 4 year old gets so many gifts he gets overwhelmed at the prospect of opening them.

Eighteen years ago to the day I was at a party at my brother’s girlfriend’s house in Portland.

I was just off cruise. Had flown from Hawaii to San Diego, then from San Diego to Maine for Christmas. Midst divorce.

I brought fudge and wine. There were a surprising number of people at the party. It was fun. Crazy brother is nothing if not fun if you are buzzing. I bounced from conversation to conversation but kept running into the same girl. We ended up in the kitchen having deep philosophical conversations I cannot remember. Then making out.

I am not a good wine drinker. I woke up with her on the couch, wrapped together obviously each trying to find warmth. Somebody had thrown a blanket over us, but the wood stove was out and it was cold.

I found an empty bedroom. Why in the fuck my brother and his girlfriend left us on the couch when they had a bedroom I will never know.

But I went downstairs and woke her up long enough to climb into bed. We awoke a few hours later and had semi-drunk sex. Went back to sleep then woke up long enough to have coming on hangover sex.

One two punch. Aunt flow arrived somewhere in there and we made a hell of a mess. We stripped the sheets with the plan to get them laundered.

And.

She told me she was married.

All I remember is she came from a big family. They were all swimmers. I was a swimmer, actually scouted by the ‘78 Olympic team. We were both broken toys.

Even knowing she was married, I still had sex with her again. Not my proudest moments.

I don’t even remember her name.

That makes me sad.

And the wounded skies above say it’s much too late
So maybe we should all be praying for time…

RIP, George Michael.

Photobucket


Last updated December 26, 2016


=bernard= December 26, 2016

I wouldn't beat myself up over it, really.
Deleted user December 30, 2016

It was 50/50.

woman in the moon January 02, 2017

She couldn't have been too married or she wouldn't have been there.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.