Post Christmas Frenzy in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Dec. 26, 2016, 11:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We had a very nice Christmas this year. I spent Christmas Eve with Kelly and Isabelle, and then spent the night at Brandon and Jill’s. Brandon and I got the grandsons to bed reasonably on time, and then went outside and assembled the trampoline I got them in the dark. Lol, THAT was an adventure.
However, my nefarious plan came to fruition. I’m the coolest Grandpa on the block.
The only low point this holiday weekend was that a good friend of the family was injured. Her name is Paxton, she is married to the young man who was Bradley’s best friend. She was working her last night 2am Saturday in an all night store when three men came in, robbed the safe and shot her in the back before leaving. Paxton is only 23, and at the hospital they found out she is about 5 weeks along. She didn’t even know yet. The last word is that she is going to be permanently disabled as the bullet severed a portion of her spinal cord.
All else is status quo here; everyone is doing well. Brian and Liz are down to four weeks until the new grandbaby is born. I’m giving them a hard time, telling them I want a boy, but it doesn’t really matter as long as he or she is healthy. If it’s a boy, he will be named John Austin, if it’s a girl, Harmony Loryane-Genisys Frazier. Yes, I know....I have no idea what’s going on with that one. I shall call her Genny, lol.
Brandon and Jill are set to open their Uniform Shop next month. To make extra money and garner a little notice, he set up a fireworks stand in front of it last night. They’re there now while I watch my grandchildren, which is always a fun way for me to spend the day.
So, other than a bothersome cough (crazy Texas weather and sinus) I’m good also, having a nice last day before returning to work.
I’m glad to see that most of my friends here seem to have had a good Christmas. Wishing you all the best for a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year to boot.
John


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.