Gina in Grandma and me

  • Jan. 21, 2014, 10:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo cousins2005_zps3b493fbb.jpg Gma Thur 1-21-1982

Not much going on. Every thing is still icy but the school bus went. We stayed in though.

Gma Sun 1-21-1990

  1. A trace of snow but it all melted away. Butch and Sharon did our chores again. Charles and Doris came down for awhile after supper.

Gma Tue 1-21-1992

30 and sunshine. We did our chores then went to town and got our assessment done, also paid for deisel. Washed the car and came home. Decided to go over to Elma’s so we ate dinner at Shirleys. Got home about 445. Was a beautiful day. About 56.

Me 1-21-2004

Yay! Yay! Yay! my cousin GIna is going to stay with me for three months this fall. She was planning on doing her student teaching in St Joe so she could live with her parents, and save money. It turns out though since none of the St Joe schools are partners with the college she would have to pay money she can ill afford to stay in St Joe. She found out that Independence, Blue Springs, and Lees Summit are all partner schools so she can stay with me and only have to travel between 10 to 20 minutes to get to the school she will be student teaching. In case I havnt mentioned it she is going to be a high school science teacher.

Im so excited! I wonder when she will find out what school she will go to. I heard plenty of horror stories today at work about the dangers of all the local high schools but I have confidence that Gina can handle herself. She may be small but she has her Grandma's Armenian fire. :)

I wonder if GIna will want to bring her cat with her. Her little kitten would probably be overwhelmed by my five huge guys. If she wants too she can bring her as well as her hermit crab and hamster. Speaking of cats. Another outside cat is coming for dinner with Fuzzy. Fuzzy doesnt like him so I have to feed one by the honeysuckle bush and the other by the shed.

I wonder if the other outside cat coming to visit was Joe Dirt. I guess we will find out. My own life is a mystery to me. Gina’s little kitten, Dorie, ran outside one day while they were still living in Columbia and was never seen again. For the most part it was wonderful having Gina stay with me. We butted heads a few times and I was fortunate to have college student experts, Deve and Edna Million reading my diary and cluing me in. That time period will be bitter sweet though as thats the same timeframe in which my beloved Figaro went into a decline and I had to have him put to sleep in December. He always wanted to run into Gina’s room and stalk her hamster and just hang out with her. They grew up together and at one time had quite the sibling rivalry. When I first got FIggie GIna started crying and said I loved Figaro more than I loved her.

Eyes are doing really well today. I can see the medicine swirling around but what I see in between the spots Im seeing so much better. Angie and i had a good talk about my binge today. She point that when I compare how I used to be before we started working with her which was every day was pretty much a binge to know binging 1 to 2 times a month I have come a long way

Good Things I did for me

Ran 5 miles

Zumba

Did intervals on the step machine 1 minute at level five 1 minute at level nine. We only did it for 10 minutes but I burned 150 calories.

 photo cgina2004_zps1d094d82.jpg


edna million January 24, 2014

I can NOT believe it's been that long ago that Gina was your roomie!!!! Weirdly enough, I did not realize she was your cousin -- I've always thought she was your niece. It's hard to believe Figaro has been gone so long too.

Spinster edna million ⋅ January 25, 2014

When she was younger I called her my niece/cousin interchangeably.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.