To Everything, There is a Season in Day by Day

  • Dec. 24, 2016, 4:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not sure how to title my entry. Perhaps it will come to me as I type. If so, you already know what I came up with. :)

A friend died tonight. She’d been in ill health for the past three decades. She’s battled kidney disease, diabetes, cancer, heart problems and more, but this time a perforated colon infected her body with C Diff and it was too much on the poor lady. I’ll miss talking to her before church service on Saturday night. She was a salty woman who spoke honestly and did not sugar coat. I’ll miss her crazy hats. I’m close to her only child and her husband is in my husband’s life group, so we know them fairly well. We attended occasional parties and gatherings together, would call each other on work related stuff, that kind of thing.

My husband and I went up to the hospital just before she passed away. We had a good talk with my friend’s husband and daughter. Their faith is strong so they’re sad, but also at peace in their hearts. We talked about how we all return to God eventually. Really, all we are is “on loan”. We talked about appreciation for loving friends and about how they were there for us when we lost Nick.

We were meant to be at the hospital tonight for more than one reason. As we were leaving, a young couple (who are to be married in January) asked if we could give them a jump. We called AAA and stayed to make sure they were okay.

Sometime during that hour, my friend passed away. I think she sent that young couple to us to remind us that there is still much for us to do.

When we got home at 8:30, I made turkey gravy for eldest son’s girlfriend who will eat turkey while we dine on a beautiful beef tenderloin ($85!). No, we don’t hate her. She doesn’t eat beef. So I sliced some really pretty breast meat from Thanksgiving’s dinner and froze it. I also froze the gizzards (used half at Thanksgiving and half to make the broth to make the gravy).

After getting home from the hospital, I made a lovely roux, slowly working in the above mentioned broth. I then took a small jar with a tight fitting lid and placed three heaping tablespoons and some salt & pepper in it. I then filled the jar with strong black coffee and stirred a little, then closed it up and shook it vigorously. I then poured it into my roux/broth mixture and brought it all to a quick boil, stirring constantly until it was silky smooth. Doing it this way ensures you end up with no lumps. I’m known for making excellent gravies.

So the gravy is in the fridge. I’ll defrost the turkey slices tomorrow, arrange them in a baking dish, pour some gravy across it (to keep it moist) and it’ll be ready to pop in the oven for a quick warm up on Sunday. The rest of the gravy will go on the table for mashed potatoes. There will be enough if more than one person wants turkey but not enough to go around the table.

This does not worry me because I have a moist, oh-so-tender tenderloin, trimmed to my specifications and expertly tied for uniform cooking. I will of course, follow my above gravy instructions, substituting beef juices for turkey broth. The beef eaters need gravy for their mashed potatoes, too!

The table is set. The cranberry sauce is made and the canned stuff is chilling in the fridge. The kids are bring white wine and broccoli casserole. The acorn squash is made and in the freezer. The cornbread stuffing is made and in the freezer. The rolls are done. Dessert will be a simple one of specialty ice cream, fudge (3 squares, all different), and Christmas cookies.

We’ll defrost, cook, reheat, stir and warm or chill as needed over the next couple of days.

Tomorrow will not be too busy until mid-afternoon, when we first serve at and then attend the annual short Christmas service. It is the only time of year our church does traditional music (we play ROCK and I ain’t talking watered down, either), then a short message (ten minutes…I love our pastor. He doesn’t have to drone on and on. He makes a point and moves on.), then the room is darkened and candle lighting begins. As pastor talks of the candle representing hope and love, life group leaders move through the congregation, lighting candles. Then when everybody has their candle, we raise them high and the whole room illuminates. He tells us to look around and see how together we can bring light where there was darkness.

Tomorrow night’s dinner will be easy since it too is already done: lobster mac & cheese and broccoli. It’ll just be the two of us, but there’s plenty to share if more drop in.

My niece sent me a picture of Nick’s stocking:

alt text

Seeing it brings tears to my eyes, but also joy in my heart that HER Nicholas is using it. Nick would be pleased, too. He loved little kids.

So now you know that I did indeed figure out my title. If I don’t get online much tomorrow, I wish my Jewish friends a Happy Hanukkah and my Christian friends a Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all!


Shattered December 24, 2016

Merry Christmas Connie! Have a wonderful weekend!

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ December 24, 2016

Thanks and I hope the same for you! Merry Christmas!

QueenSuzu December 24, 2016

Please accept my sympathies on your friend's passing.

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ December 24, 2016

Thank you. Merry Christmas!

GypsyWynd December 24, 2016

Sorry to hear about your ritiene, and sorry for her family.
Your gravy sounds delcious, and it seems you've got everything well in hand.
I used to enjoy the candlelight part of the Christmas Eve service.
Have a Merry Christmas!!

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ December 24, 2016

Thanks! Merry Christmas!

middle age pearl December 24, 2016

Merry Christmas to you and your family!

ConnieK middle age pearl ⋅ December 24, 2016

Thanks! Merry Christmas!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.