"ABOUT POETRY AND ME" in "WRITER@WORK" BY. THE WORDPLAY WARRIOR

  • Dec. 17, 2016, 11:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

How much do I love poetry?

It didn’t start as a love at a first sight…or line. In fact, I had quite a misconception about it.

I’d thought it was all lame and always oh-so-serious. I’d thought only love-struck beings and cheesy romance lovers wrote them.

Well, I was half right, but then there are other poems too.

I have to admit that heartbreak was my first reason to start writing poetry more frequently again. However, most of them were dark and rather sinister. I’d tried not to sound too desperate and clingy.

Before I knew it, I got myself addicted.

I’ve attended some poetry reading sessions and enjoyed every bit of it. I’ve met really interesting people and made new friends too.

For me, this is like one of the best sources of alternative entertainment in this city. (Who says you can’t really do much in Jakarta?) It’s my great escapade from reality, although only temporary.

The last poetry reading session I attended was “Unmasked”. One of the greatest performances I remembered best was when a couple came up on stage and teamed up reading a seriously satirical poem about cat-callers. Feeling how many people out there who still don’t take cat-calling seriously, I had laughed out loud. I was relieved that I wasn’t being overly sensitive about it.

More poetry next year? You bet.

The Wordplay Warrior


Deleted user December 17, 2016

read my poem sometime called "I've fallen in love". Anyways, I love poetry too, for I used it to help me express my powerful emotions that I hold inside. If you like poetry visit poetry magazine's website. You can enter four poems in a six month span, but not only, may they publish your poems but pay you a minimum of $300 per a poem. I just thought I should let you know.

author Deleted user ⋅ December 19, 2016

I'd like that. Thanks for the tip.

Deleted user author ⋅ December 19, 2016

No worries, success breeds success.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.