JUST A QUICK HELLO in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Dec. 15, 2016, 11:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just thought in an effort to be more present here I would make a post before getting dressed for work.
We’re on lockdown at work. For those not familiar with prison life and lingo, that means the offenders are restricted to their bunks for a week, or in our case apparently, two weeks. Meals consist of sandwiches brought to their dorms except for once a week, when they are treated to a hot meal. Not fun for them, and extremely boring for me as there is little to do. Transports (I am primarily a transportation officer) are almost non-existent this week so far, so there’s been a lot of standing around with little for me to do. I don’t handle boredom well, and since I won’t be doing unit transfers during a lockdown, the only thing I can do is wait for someone to get sick and need a ride to the hospital. Seems kind of tacky to hope for that, so I’m just dealing with the boredom.
I am a little put out with our medical department and our local hospital over one incident. An offender became sick and was vomiting blood. Our medical department didn’t see her immediately, but when they did they called for an ambulance. We went to the hospital, and the doctor looked at her and sent her back without further testing. I’m no physician, but when you’re having an issue like that, it seems like further investigation is warranted. Maybe I’m being alarmist.
Anyway, I expressed my concern to the proper people, wrote a report and I haven’t heard anything, so I’m hoping it’s being taken care of and corrected.
The weather here is beautiful today, it’s sunny and 69 degrees. We may get a few days 6f actual freezing weather, but all in all we have pretty mild winters this far down south.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.