White Queen in General

  • Dec. 13, 2016, 8:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The White Queen walks and the night grows pale…

 photo white queen.jpg

A beautiful blonde in lace will get my attention every time!

When I woke up this morning I needed to piss like a race horse. I don’t generally sleep through the night without at least one trip to the loo.

Business attended to, I made my way downstairs. Made coffee, watched the news. Tried to read, but for some reason my brain kept going to money.

Because (Andy Williams voice) It’s the most expensive time of the year!

Around 10AM I decided I should go clear the end of the driveway, I had heard the plows going by during the early morning hours.

So I dressed, put on my hat and jacket. Grabbed my sunglasses and gloves. Slipped into my boots. Went into the garage and opened the door. About the time my hand grabbed my shovel I realized the end of the drive was already clear.

I guess there is something to be said about positive thoughts. (Dear Santa, please please please bring me a pretty blonde who isn’t too high maintenance …)

I didn’t get my Christmas shopping done. It’s not like it is really shopping. Buy Christmas cards and gift cards and stamps. Plus the lobster Mac and Cheese for the folks. And the stuff to make the marinara for the Christmas eve lasagna.

Typing that made me tired. Actually I am going into a food coma. I haven’t eaten anything of substance in two days. Yogurt doesn’t really count.

Tonight I steamed some Rana tortellini, made a bechamel sauce and mixed it with spinach. And freaking chowed down.

Now my blood is otherwise occupied. I hope in the morning this entry makes sense. Hell, there is always edit.

I posted this on my FB, and was surprised to see people who I didn’t even know followed me come out of the woodwork. (Beach Boys “Surfer Girl” is floating through my sleepy skull.) My little gunner girl.

Oh Vanessa!
 photo gunnergirl1_1.jpg

Photobucket


=bernard= December 14, 2016

So how do you make your bechamel, and do you steam the spinach first or just add it to the sauce after the sauce has cooked?

Duke =bernard= ⋅ December 18, 2016

Stick of butter, four cups of milk, four cups of flour, a cup of parmesan (which I guess makes it more of an Alfredo than a béchamel) and a tablespoon of nutmeg. Works with most of the pasta I eat anyway!

Deleted user December 30, 2016

Copy that ! :-)

woman in the moon January 02, 2017

I used to make white sauce with a tbsp of butter, tbsp of flour melted mixed together and a cup of milk, heat and stir from time to time. Added cheese or dijon-ish mustard and salt, I never have pepper. Put it on potatoes to scallop or tuna fish and noodles. Been a while. My microwave died and I used to do that stuff in it.

I have some frozen home-caught fish from the deer hunters that I need to cook. Bake in regular oven. Lemon juice and butter, parsley flakes?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.