Moving House in Transition

  • Dec. 12, 2016, 10:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve started looking at rental properties and have made appointments to look at two next week. As I have two days off work, I suppose I should make the most of it and start looking. I’ve put the mortgage on hold until January and then will change it to interest only payments after that, there’s no reason why I shouldn’t move out before the house is sold as I’ll be able to afford the rent. I think it would be easier that way anyway, as I can get all the things out of the house to make it look more presentable to potential buyers, and then just pass it to the estate agent to deal with. I would hate to have to deal with the sale myself, it would just be too difficult.

So I’m looking at places a bit closer to work. It’ll be further for roller derby, but that’s only once or twice a week and going to work is every single day. I’m getting so sick of taking 90 minutes to get to and from work when the journey should really take about 25 minutes. People drive like idiots around here, they keep crashing cars and blocking the roads. The worst of it is always between junction 10 - 6 of the M6, in both directions. I live at junction 9 and work at junction 4 so I always get stuck in it. So I’m looking at places around junction 6, where the traffic shouldn’t be so bad and it’s a lot closer so it’ll cut a chunk off my journey.

This is really happening. I need to start packing and getting rid of Jay’s belongings :o(


Last updated December 12, 2016


Babe In Toyland December 12, 2016

Love. Do you want me to save more boxes?

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ December 12, 2016

Yes please as many as possible! Thank you.

history of love Bomb Shell ⋅ December 12, 2016

I actually just went into places like poundland and b & m and straight up asked for boxes instead of buying them. It worked!

Waterfire Babe In Toyland ⋅ December 12, 2016

Toy shops are a good shout too! The Smyths up by me gave me ENORMOUS boxes to post stuff in when I asked!

history of love December 12, 2016

I feel your pain (although my commuter pain is train related)
Good luck trying to find somewhere to live :)

Etoile Filante December 12, 2016

I am really excited to see what your new space looks like.
xXx

Perpetually Plump December 13, 2016

I'm not exactly in the same situation, but I am in the middle of selling my house. My realtor doesn't want any boxes visible anywhere, oh and my garage needs to be accessible to buyers. Okay. Great. Now where the hell am I supposed to put the stuff I'm moving? It's all boxed up, but it has to go somewhere. I wish I could move out before selling the house, as that'd make my life a lot easier! Of course, if the house isn't sold by the time I have to go work for NASA, then I will be moving out before it's sold, but I plan on leaving all my stuff here since we'll be living who knows where. Ugh. Moving is stressful, and like you, I'm trying to eliminate a 90-120 minute drive when I move. I may still end up with an hour drive though. Which is still way more acceptable...

Bomb Shell Perpetually Plump ⋅ December 13, 2016

I know what you mean. I've never sold a house before, and I didn't want the stress of selling and buying at the same time because, what if you sell before you find somewhere to buy, where would you live? And what if you find somewhere to buy before you sell, how can you pay for two mortgages? That's part of the reason I've decided to rent for a little while, to take off some of that pressure.

Perpetually Plump Bomb Shell ⋅ December 13, 2016

I can give you answers. Lol! If you sell before you buy, you stay with friends. Or live in a hotel. Or do a lease back (I'll never do one again, as the seller.) if you find one to buy, you do it on a contingency that basically says you can't buy their house until you sell your own. I've done both ways. And of course, that's in the US. I don't understand English real estate options! But it super stressful. I'm about to lose my mind.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.