The Countdown is On in Life

  • Dec. 11, 2016, 1:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

There’s a week and a half of school left. In some ways it’s going much easier than this time of year normally would. I’ve finished 2 weeks of StarBase and have the final week next week. That’s two solid weeks of not being in school other than the beginning and ending of the day. I miss the routines that we normally do at Christmas time. The music, the fun, but I’m loving StarBase. They made a change to our schedule. Normally the last day is a half day, it’s our Polar Express Day, pj day, and party day. The kids leave at noon and we are “blessed” with “early” release at 2:30 instead of 3. This year we get to leave a half hour after the kids. So, we have our parties on Tuesday. I was looking forward to a fun party day with the kids, but while I was out, my coteachers got the principal to move us to the afternoon play, which gives us about 45 minutes for our “party”. Grinches. So that will just be a bring treats and share day. We’ll still do Polar Express and pjs on Wed. For those that come, I’m cooking waffles and sausage for breakfast, then turning them loose on my hotwheels set (they loved the science activities we used it for). My coworkers asked if there were enough hotwheels for all 3 classes, and I let them know there weren’t. They can do what they want on that day, but we’re having fun.
It’s hard to tell it’s Christmas here at home. I am not even trying to put up my regular tree this year, with these two house panthers. I bought a tiny little 3 foot tree. I’m trying to let them get used to it, but maybe it’s too small. They start rubbing on it to scratch and there it goes. I haven’t been brave enough to put any ornaments on it. So it’s a naked tree with a star.
I haven’t gotten Christmas cards out yet, but I WILL do that this evening. If the weather holds up, I may try to put some outside decorations up, so at least the outside of the house looks like Christmas. I though of getting one of those house laser light decorations, but the thought of those lights twinkling in through the windows and the cats going crazy chasing them…yeah, no. lol


Small Town Girl December 11, 2016

Is it just me or are the lazer light decorations really hard to see? I see a lot of people put them out on their homes and lazers are so faint.

terriberri December 11, 2016

you sound crazy busy hon. be sure to slow some moments down for deep breathes and true enjoyment....you enjoy it.

Jigger December 21, 2016

I must remember how lucky I am that none of our cats mess with the tree, other than drinking up the water.

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ December 21, 2016

I realize that the tiny tree was a mistake. They lean up for a sniff (or chew) and over it goes. I sprayed the No Scratch stuff on it, but they seemed to like it. Go figure.

Deleted user January 04, 2017

Put Vicks on the tree next year . Cats hate the smell :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.