December 10, 2016 in The Richness of Each Day, December 2016

  • Dec. 10, 2016, 7:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The richness in this day was when I walked the children’s bike trail that runs behind my house, and saw the city’s water processing plant office and the back of a church with a huge yard where a Christmas festival was being held for children today. I’ve lived here a month, now, and this is my first venture behind the house. It was a totally different world back there, people walking their dogs, strolling with cell phones in hand, children and parents biking, birds in the trees, views of the back of my neighbors’ homes…some fences, then my six foot fence. A bit as if I had been living in Plato’s cave–I had no idea!

Another metaphor.


Deleted user December 10, 2016

Life is meant for exploring :-)

MageB December 12, 2016

Lovely!!!

middle age pearl December 13, 2016

It is too cold here to explore very long outside, but so glad you were able to get another view of your neighborhood.

Bomb Shell December 14, 2016

I had never heard of Plato's cave before, but I've just read about it; it's an interesting concept!

ODSago Bomb Shell ⋅ December 14, 2016

Yes, isn't it?

noko December 14, 2016

Ah. You are finding your community. It is so great to be engaged in that way.

Serin December 18, 2016

Plato was smart and never wrote about the backyard to the cave. ;)

ODSago Serin ⋅ December 18, 2016

So true.

ODSago Serin ⋅ December 20, 2016

You know, I wish you were my son...I love your wry wit and we lack that in our family circle now. My dad and his brothers were like that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.