No RPL in 2014

  • Dec. 10, 2016, 6:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My application for RPL was denied. Reason being the courses I did were over 10 years ago. They were 19 years ago so I knew I was pushing it…

On Thursday I was contacted by a lady from a recruitment agency who had come across my details on Linked In. She has a client who is looking for an IT Service Delivery Manager. It is a small company and they’re looking for someone who has really good interpersonal skills for managing teams. My Linked In profile has a recommendation from one of my old managers on my interpersonal skills. I’m meeting her at 7am on Tuesday for a coffee and a chat before work. If I suitably impress her enough she’ll present my details to her client which will hopefully lead to an interview. She warned me that they’re looking to hire someone quickly, January 2017.

So now I’m not sure what to do about my course. I was motivated to enroll in this course because:
- I’ve done it before. I loved it. I know I’ll love it again.
- I’m in a dead end job and the job market here is TERRIBLE.
- I only work 9 day fortnights. Giving me 5 days a fortnight to dedicate to study.
- My current job is easy. There’s no after hours calls, no late nights etc.
So taking on the course workload would fit perfectly around my current job. I’m not sure how it would work with a new job. I think I’m going to wait and see how this interview goes. If I don’t get the job then I’ll enroll in the units. If I do get the job then I’ll see how I feel.

Chook is getting braces. We’re up to stage 2. The anchor brackets have been glued in and molds were taken. She gets the actual braces put in on the 22nd. They come to $7500, half of which I had to pay upfront as a deposit. The rest is paid as monthly installments of $250 which is much more affordable. I paid the deposit of $3500 early and thankfully my health insurance has reimbursed me half of the deposit. So I used all of that money to buy Christmas presents on my RDO from work.

Chook spent last week at Netball camp down in Dunsborough with her school. They traveled down to the South West to play the high-schools down there as part of the state school girls competition. Then spent the rest of the time at the beach, paddle boarding, surfing etc. She came back sunburnt, even though I bought her two types of sunscreen to use. She came home tired, sunburnt with lots of mosquito bites on her legs. Thankfully she had a great time, even though she came home exhausted. Her attitude is now much nicer and she’s somewhat pleasant to be around now. Unlike before she left where she was grumpy, cranky and generally unpleasant. The school year is long. It’s nice she ends her school year with a netball camp.


Deleted user December 16, 2016

Back in the day, when my daughter was very young, I went to college. I had to stop and was only a few credits short of my degree. A handful of years ago I decided I wanted to finish that degree. Just to finish it. I was told all the credit I'd earned were no longer valid. They were too old now. I was so mad. And I'm not starting over now.

Swanny Deleted user ⋅ December 16, 2016

So annoying huh... To their credit though, I have actually forgotten just about everything they taught me 19 years ago. What did you study out of curiosity?

Deleted user Swanny ⋅ December 17, 2016

Business.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.