CHILLY IN TEXAS in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Dec. 10, 2016, 5:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good morning from the Lone Star State! It’s a slightly wintery 54 degrees here this morning, and I just got home from the local flea markets with my eldest son Brandon. We are scheduled to attend a Christmas get together with my step-granddaughter’s family this evening, but I wanted to get on and update everyone.
The custody case for my youngest granddaughter is going well. The attorney doesn’t forsee any problems with my son winning custody of his neice. The only bad part is that court isn’t until March, which will make it a year and a half since her parent’s deaths we’ve been dealing with this. She is healthy, happy and beautiful (of course) so we’re just taking it one day at a time and spoiling her and the other grandchidren rotten.
My youngest, Brian, and his girlfriend Liz are doing well. She is in her third trimester and both she and the baby are healthy. The nursery is nearly done, and will be finished well ahead of the January due date. I am a little tired of all the pink. To quote Steel Magnolias, it looks like Pepto Bismol threw up all over the walls. I am going to laugh hysterically if they have a boy, and refuse to let them redecorate. I’ve drawn and painted so many disney princesses for the walls it’s not funny, they will stick around for a while, lol. I did see the coolest brass canopy baby bed at the flea market, but at $900.00 it was a bit outside my reasonable price range. It was tempting though. Typing it, it sounds tacky, but it was really a beautiful bed.
Kelly (foster daughter) and her family found a place nearby and moved out. I love her, but that many young adults vying for supremacy was driving me a little nuts. It’s much calmer with just the three of us instead of six staying here now. I like calm, calm is good.
All my Christmas shopping is nearly done. I’m only buying for grands this year. For the three eldest grandsons, a trampoline, so that I will officially be the coolest grandpa ever, Sienna got Barbie stuff, Darci a stuffed unicorn, Raina a pretty winter coat and booties. Only Micah, Isabelle and Remington left. I”m feeling pretty accomplished that so much is done on that front. Shopping is usually done Christmas Eve at the last minute, because I procrastinate so much, lol.
So, all in all everyone is doing well. They are all healthy and happy at the moment, which makes me happy and definitly contributes to my well-being.
I hope you guys have a very Merry Christmas, I will “talk” to you all soon.
John


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.